Ohio local moratoria
Every local infrastructure moratorium in the inventory for Ohio, current through August 19, 2026.
53 instruments — 47 in force, 3 pending, 3 past.
State policy is tracked separately: 12 actions (12 bills) in state_legislation.csv. These are not included in the local count above.
| Jurisdiction | Type | Enacted | Sectors | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alliance | City | 2026-07-06 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Archbold | Village | 2026-04-06 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Avon | City | 2026-04-14 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Berea | City | 2026-06-15 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Blanchester | Village | 2026-03-12 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Braceville Township | Township | 2026-06-02 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Butler County | County | 2026-06-16 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Canton Township | Township | 2026-04-09 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Cincinnati | City | 2026-02 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| City of Hubbard | City | 2026-06-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of New Carlisle | City | 2026-02-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of Norton | City | 2025-12-01 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| City of Waterville | City | 2025-12-08 | data center | ⚪ Expired |
| Cleveland | City | 2026-07-15 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Cortland | City | 2026-06-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Defiance | City | Unverified | data center | 🟡 Pending |
| Findlay | City | 2026-04-21 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Girard | City | Unverified | data center | 🟡 Pending |
| Grafton | Village | 2026-05-19 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Grove City | City | 2026-06-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Howland Township | Township | 2026-06-10 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Hubbard Township | Township | 2026-02-10 | general | 🟢 Active |
| Jackson Township (Franklin County) | Township | 2026-05-12 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Jerome Township | Township | 2025-09-03 | data center | ⚪ Expired |
| Kent | City | 2026-04-15 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Lake Township | Township | 2026-03-03 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Massillon | City | 2026-04-06 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Maumee | City | 2026-02-02 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Monclova Township | Township | 2026-02-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Montgomery Township | Township | 2026-06-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Mount Orab | Village | 2026-03-03 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Pierce Township | Township | 2026-02-11 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Plain City | Village | Unverified | data center | 🟡 Pending |
| Plain Township | Township | 2026-03-24 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Providence Township | Township | 2026-04-15 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Ravenna | City | 2026-04-20 | data center, cryptocurrency mining | 🟢 Active |
| Richfield Township | Township | 2026-02-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Scioto Township | Township | 2026-03-05 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Shawnee Township | Township | 2026-04-13 | data center, battery storage, solar | 🟢 Active |
| South Bloomfield | Village | 2025-12-15 | data center | ⚪ Replaced |
| Spencer Township | Township | 2026-03-05 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Sprigg Township | Township | 2026-03-02 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Springfield | City | 2026-07-14 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| St. Marys | City | 2026-06-22 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Tallmadge | City | 2026-04-13 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Tiffin | City | 2026-04-20 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Vermilion | City | 2026-03-23 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Village of Ashville | Village | 2025-12-22 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Village of Lordstown | Village | 2026-01-05 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Washington Township | Township | 2025-12-08 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Waterville Township | Township | 2025-12-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Williamsburg | Village | 2026-03-12 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Yellow Springs | Village | 2026-05-18 | data center | 🟢 Active |
Detailed entries
Alliance
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-06 (City Council meeting)
- Normalized date:
2026-07-06(exact) - Duration: 18 months (not to exceed)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-alliance-2026 - Legal basis: City Council ordinance/legislation approved 5-1 (Councilman Phillip Mastroianni opposed; Councilwoman Jennifer Kiko absent), denying permits for any 'AI data centers' within city limits.
- What prompted it: Councilwoman Sheila Cherry pushed for the pause to protect residents, separate facts from rumors, and to amend related I-2 industrial-district restrictions to include conditional uses; comes after Mayor Andy Grove revealed at least one company had expressed interest in bringing a data center to the city, and follows separate mid-June 2026 legislation restricting future data centers to I-2 industrial zones.
- Affected projects: No specific developer/project named in coverage; Mayor Andy Grove said at least one company has expressed interest in bringing a data center to the city.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31 (adopted 2026-07-06); a sub-committee on data centers was formed for future workshops and public discussion.
- Outcome: Pending; sub-committee formed to develop conditional-use standards for the existing I-2 industrial-district restriction adopted in mid-June 2026.
Archbold
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-06 (emergency ordinance); Council had initially tabled a broader proposal on 2026-02-16 following resident pushback and legal hesitation from the Village Law Director and County Farm Bureau, then adopted a narrower six-month moratorium on 2026-04-06
- Normalized date:
2026-04-06(exact) - Duration: 6 months (180 days), emergency ordinance
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-archbold-2026 - Legal basis: Emergency moratorium ordinance adopted 2026-04-06 covering data centers, advanced manufacturing, and technology storage facilities (exact ordinance number not confirmed in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: Resident concern over land off County Road C and possible data center industrialization
- Affected projects: No formal project confirmed by village officials in captured reporting
- Detailed status: Active; six-month emergency moratorium enacted 2026-04-06, expiring approximately October 2026
- Outcome: Council adopted the moratorium unanimously (5 of 6 members present, Council President Karla Ball absent) on 2026-04-06, despite the Village Law Director advising it was unnecessary (no pending applications) and the Farm Bureau warning of litigation exposure.
Avon
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Passed by Council 2026-04-13; approved by Mayor Bryan K. Jensen 2026-04-14 (emergency measure, effective immediately upon mayoral approval); Section 1 sets the moratorium through April 14, 2027.
- Normalized date:
2026-04-14(exact) - Duration: Through 2027-04-14, extendable up to 6 months by Council
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-avon-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 37-26 (text confirmed via cityofavon.com PDF capture)
- What prompted it: Increased interest in data centers and need to study state codes, local ordinances, and regulatory controls
- Affected projects: Future permitted, special, accessory, zoning, building, occupancy, site plan, and related approvals for data centers
- Detailed status: Active. The certified Ordinance No. 37-26 shows passage by Council on 2026-04-13 and approval by Mayor Bryan K. Jensen on 2026-04-14 (emergency, effective immediately); it does not print an itemized roll-call vote tally on its face.
- Outcome: Planning Commission directed to begin data center regulatory study at next regular meeting
Berea
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-15 (emergency measure)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-15(exact) - Duration: Up to 1 year
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-berea-2026 - Legal basis: City Council emergency ordinance; Ordinance 6-6
- What prompted it: Study of infrastructure, utilities, environmental effects, resident concerns, and long-term planning implications of data centers
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2027-06-15
- Outcome: Council approved Ordinance 6-6, an emergency measure imposing a moratorium of up to one year on permits and permit applications for data centers
Blanchester
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-12
- Normalized date:
2026-03-12(exact) - Duration: 24 months (2 years) from the effective date, per Ordinance 2026.007 Section 1
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-blanchester-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2026.007, "Ordinance Establishing Data Center Moratorium"
- What prompted it: General council concern that the village electric grid could not support a data center's power needs, plus unresolved questions about energy sourcing raised at a council-attended data-center webinar; no specific project or applicant was pending.
- Affected projects: Not specified
- Detailed status: Listed on village 2026 documents page; full text not captured because site output was incomplete
- Outcome: No data-center-related zoning or council action has followed the March 12, 2026 adoption; council minutes for April 9, May 14, and June 11, 2026 (the most recent available) contain no further mention of data centers or the moratorium.
Braceville Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-02 (immediately effective)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-02(exact) - Duration: 6 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-braceville-township-2026 - Legal basis: Township trustee resolution under R.C. Chapter 519 (resolution number not confirmed in sources reviewed) [VERIFY]
- What prompted it: Concerns about noise, electric, and water impacts, and coordination with county model zoning work
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2026-11-29 [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Trustees unanimously approved an immediately effective six-month moratorium on data center permits and applications
Butler County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-16
- Normalized date:
2026-06-16(exact) - Duration: 6 months, immediately effective
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-butler-county-2026 - Legal basis: Board of County Commissioners resolution; Resolution 26-06-00963, covering unincorporated areas of Hanover, Lemon, Madison, Milford, Oxford, and Ross townships where the county administers zoning
- What prompted it: County-initiated pause on data center applications and permits in county-zoned townships pending policy development
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2026-12-13
- Outcome: Commissioners unanimously adopted Resolution 26-06-00963, immediately imposing a six-month moratorium barring county acceptance or processing of applications and issuance of zoning or building permits for data centers and data processing centers in Hanover, Lemon, Madison, Milford, Oxford, and Ross townships
Canton Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-09
- Normalized date:
2026-04-09(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-canton-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee resolution drafted by township law director [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Resident concerns over noise, electricity and water consumption, wastewater, aesthetics, and nearby projects
- Affected projects: Does not affect two parcels annexed by the City of Canton in late 2025 that data-center-affiliated companies have since purchased: 84.5 acres northeast of Trump Avenue and Orchard View Drive SE, and 162.9 acres southeast of Millerton Street and Central Avenue SE.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Township awaits more state/federal guidance and studies
Cincinnati
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-02-11 (IDCO No. 89 effective date, per city planning page); extended 2026-04-01 for 9 months to 2027-02-11
- Normalized date:
2026-02(month_only) - Duration: Through February 11, 2027 (the original Interim Development Control Overlay District No. 89 was effective 2026-02-11 for 3 months, expiring 2026-05-11; City Council approved a 9-month extension on 2026-04-01 following the City Planning Commission's 2026-03-06 recommendation, moving the expiration to 2027-02-11)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-cincinnati-2026 - Legal basis: Interim Development Control Overlay District [CITE primary ordinance not captured]
- What prompted it: No data center classification in zoning code and need to study impacts on more than 22,000 parcels
- Affected projects: Data centers in downtown, industrial, and manufacturing zones subject to review process
- Detailed status: Active restriction, not a full ban; extended through 2027-02-11 by a Council vote on 2026-04-01
- Outcome: Zoning study and Planning Commission review based on neighborhood compatibility, water and utility use, adverse effects, and public benefits
City of Hubbard
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-01 (emergency ordinance)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-01(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-city-of-hubbard-2026 - Legal basis: City Council emergency ordinance (ordinance number not confirmed in sources reviewed) [VERIFY]
- What prompted it: Resident opposition to a possible data center project referred to as 'Project Milo' and criticism of an economic-development nondisclosure agreement; more than 200 residents attended the May 18 meeting where the emergency legislation was requested
- Affected projects: Project Milo (unconfirmed developer)
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2027-06-01 [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: City Council approved an emergency 12-month moratorium on construction, placement, or operation of data centers, following a May 18 request by Councilwoman Robin Zambrini
City of New Carlisle
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-17
- Normalized date:
2026-02-17(exact) - Duration: 12 months from 2026-03-04 effective date
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-new-carlisle-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2026-06
- What prompted it: Lack of zoning classifications for data centers; energy, water, utility, environmental, neighborhood, and long-term planning concerns
- Affected projects: No specific project identified
- Detailed status: Active through approximately 2027-03-04
- Outcome: Study period for planning, zoning, and business regulation decisions
City of Norton
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2025-12-01
- Normalized date:
2025-12-01(exact) - Duration: 180 days (Ord. 108-2025, 2025-12-01 to 2026-05-30), followed by a 90-day extension under Ord. 55-2026 (adopted 2026-05-18), running through approximately mid-to-late August 2026
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-norton-2025 - Legal basis: Ordinance 108-2025; extended by Ordinance 55-2026 (adopted 2026-05-18 as an emergency measure)
- What prompted it: Data center applications and need to review planning and zoning code
- Affected projects: Future NAICS 518 zoning certificate applications; council discussion indicated one then-current application was not affected
- Detailed status: Extended via Ordinance 55-2026 (adopted 2026-05-18, emergency, 90-day moratorium). Council minutes of 2026-07-06 confirm the moratorium remains in effect through approximately August 2026, distinct from the permanent zoning ordinances (60-2026, 61-2026) adopted the same night.
- Outcome: Planning Commission recommendations resulted in permanent zoning ordinances: Ord. 60-2026 (amending Section 1282.03, Special Industrial Use Permits, for large-scale data centers) and Ord. 61-2026 (amending Section 1298, Conditional Uses), both adopted by Council on 2026-07-06. Council clarified this permanent legislation does not replace the still-active temporary moratorium.
City of Waterville
- Type: City
- Status: ⚪ Expired
- Date enacted: 2025-12-08
- Normalized date:
2025-12-08(exact) - Duration: 182 days (6 months); amended down from an originally proposed 12 months (365 days) at the same meeting before adoption
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-waterville-2025 - Legal basis: Resolution 34-25, "A RESOLUTION IMPOSING A MORATORIUM ON THE ISSUANCE OR GRANTING OF APPLICATIONS OR PERMITS FOR DATA CENTERS AND ANCILLARY FACILITIES IN THE CITY OF WATERVILLE OHIO," adopted 2025-12-08 as amended from a proposed 12 months down to 6 months (182 days), by unanimous 7-0 roll call.
- What prompted it: Community concern and desire to study impacts after prior zoning allowed data centers in M-1 manufacturing districts
- Affected projects: No specific city project identified; concern tied to broader Anthony Wayne area data center activity
- Detailed status: Resolution 34-25 (as amended, a 182-day/6-month term from its 2025-12-08 adoption) expired on approximately 2026-06-08. No extension, replacement, or repeal was found in Council minutes of 2026-05-11, 2026-06-01 (special), or 2026-06-08 (the meeting closest to the expiration date itself); the latter's minutes cover other business at length with no mention of data centers.
- Outcome: Mayor and staff researching data centers; possible conditional-use process under review
Cleveland
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-15 (Ordinance 556-2026 passed by full Council, 14-1). Councilmember Charles Slife's original 2026-04-28 proposal called for a one-year pause; the Utilities Committee (chaired by Brian Kazy) reduced it to three months before the full Council vote.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-15(exact) - Duration: 3 months (through approximately 2026-10-16), extendable by Council for an additional 3 months; reduced from the originally proposed 1 year
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-cleveland-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 556-2026, following Councilmember Charles Slife's initial proposal; advanced by the Utilities Committee (chaired by Brian Kazy) and passed by full Council 2026-07-15, 14-1
- What prompted it: Water and power use, outages, low permanent job creation, and zoning/infrastructure review
- Affected projects: Future permits within city limits if enacted
- Detailed status: Active; a three-month moratorium on new standalone/principal-use data center projects and expansions took effect upon passage on 2026-07-15, running through approximately 2026-10-16. Excludes operation of existing data centers and colocated/edge/enterprise facilities.
- Outcome: Adopted. A Data Center working group is developing zoning/regulatory recommendations addressing land use, power needs, environmental standards, jobs, and community benefits, with policy reforms expected to be introduced by mid-September 2026.
Cortland
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-01 (emergency passage)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-01(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-cortland-2026 - Legal basis: City Council emergency ordinance (ordinance number not confirmed in sources reviewed) [VERIFY]
- What prompted it: Desire to review the planning and zoning code before permitting data centers
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2027-06-01 [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Council gave emergency passage to a one-year moratorium stopping applications and zoning permits for data centers
Defiance
- Type: City
- Status: 🟡 Pending
- Date enacted: Proposed; not yet enacted as of 2026-07-31. A special council session on 2026-07-28 was adjourned early due to venue overcrowding; a rescheduled public meeting was planned for 2026-08-05.
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: Proposed 12-month moratorium on review/approval of data center development applications
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-defiance-undated - Legal basis: Proposed ordinance(s) under consideration by Defiance City Council: (1) a 12-month moratorium on review/approval of data center development applications, and (2) a zoning text amendment classifying data centers, data center campuses, and data warehousing as conditional uses under M-1/M-2/M-3 districts (and power-generating facilities as conditional under M-3). Not yet adopted.
- What prompted it: City officials began researching data center zoning gaps in February 2026; no pending data center applications were reported, but a nearby property proposed for annexation (west of the Menards store) drew organized resident opposition.
- Affected projects: No pending data center applications reported; resident opposition led by Rebecca Rupp centers on a property proposed for annexation west of the Menards store.
- Detailed status: Pending. A special council session on data center zoning and the proposed moratorium was quickly adjourned on 2026-07-28 due to venue overcrowding and accessibility complaints; a larger-venue public meeting was rescheduled for 2026-08-05.
- Outcome: Undetermined; contingent on the outcome of the rescheduled August 5, 2026 public meeting, which had not yet occurred as of the 2026-07-31 research date.
Findlay
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-21
- Normalized date:
2026-04-21(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-findlay-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2026-042
- What prompted it: Public concern over power demand, water use, infrastructure strain, and possible data center interest in/near Hancock County
- Affected projects: No specific developer or project has been publicly named; council and news coverage describe only general regional data-center interest near Hancock County, distinct from the separately discussed Shady Grove/Marion Township annexation area.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: City study of federal, state, and local codes and possible zoning language; Findlay Ordinance 2026-042 passed 9-1 with third reading waived (per 1063thefox.com 2026-04-22 reporting)
Girard
- Type: City
- Status: 🟡 Pending
- Date enacted: —
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: Proposed 1 year (not yet confirmed enacted)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-girard-undated - Legal basis: Proposed city ordinance; second reading completed June 22, with final reading/emergency passage scheduled for July 13, but no source located confirming actual passage
- What prompted it: Councilwoman Lily Martuccio cited unknown effects of data centers on communities, including water contamination and noise complaints reported elsewhere
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Status uncertain as of 2026-07-31; council scheduled a final vote for 2026-07-13 with immediate effect upon passage, but no source confirming that vote occurred was located in this pass [VERIFY] [VERIFY instrument number; adoption date; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.5 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Council gave a proposed one-year data center moratorium its second reading on 2026-06-22; final reading was scheduled for 2026-07-13. No confirmation of the July 13 vote outcome was found
Grafton
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-19 (emergency ordinance)
- Normalized date:
2026-05-19(exact) - Duration: Five years, per Spectrum News reporting; the adopted ordinance number and full text were not located on the village's official ordinance page during this review [VERIFY]
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-grafton-2026 - Legal basis: Village Council emergency ordinance (ordinance number not confirmed in sources reviewed) [VERIFY]
- What prompted it: Community opposition reflected in village polling and the mayor's recommendation for a pause on data center development
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Reported active as of 2026-07-31, per news account; primary ordinance text not independently confirmed [VERIFY instrument number not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Council enacted an emergency ordinance establishing a temporary moratorium on data center development; Spectrum News reported a five-year term
Grove City
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-01 (emergency measure)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-01(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-grove-city-2026 - Legal basis: City Council emergency ordinance; Ordinance C-22-26, passed 6-1
- What prompted it: Resident concern following reports of an in-development Stream Data Centers project near Rensch Road/Harrisburg Pike, though the city attorney said no application had been filed; council sought time for policy review, infrastructure analysis, and public engagement
- Affected projects: Stream Data Centers site near Rensch Road/Harrisburg Pike (no application filed as of May 2026)
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2027-06-01
- Outcome: Adopted 6-1 as an emergency measure; imposes a 12-month moratorium on establishment, development, processing, review, and approval of high-density computing facilities
Howland Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-10
- Normalized date:
2026-06-10(exact) - Duration: 6 months, renewable for another 6 months, and reasonably extendable to complete the study and adopt amendments
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-howland-township-2026 - Legal basis: Township trustee resolution under R.C. Chapter 519 (resolution number not confirmed in sources reviewed) [VERIFY]
- What prompted it: Desire to study data center impacts before approving zoning certificates, conditional use permits, variances, rezonings, and other approvals
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; initial term runs through approximately 2026-12-07 and may be renewed [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Trustees approved a six-month moratorium covering new applications for zoning certificates, conditional use permits, variances, rezonings, and other data center approvals in all township zoning districts
Hubbard Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-10 (Tuesday vote per Vindicator reporting; trustees voted 2-1 with Trustee Monica Baker abstaining)
- Normalized date:
2026-02-10(unverified) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: general
- Moratorium ID:
oh-hubbard-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee resolution drafted by township legal counsel and reviewed by Trumbull County Planning Commission [CITE: primary resolution text not posted to township site 2026-04-29]
- What prompted it: Desire to act before permit filings and allow zoning commission and public engagement
- Affected projects: No specific project identified
- Detailed status: Reported active; no rescission captured
- Outcome: Reported intent to use moratorium period for zoning work and public process; committee may also weigh pros/cons
Jackson Township (Franklin County)
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-12, Board of Trustees regular meeting
- Normalized date:
2026-05-12(exact) - Duration: Reported as one year (10TV, 614NOW); the official agenda item text itself does not state a duration
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-jackson-township-franklin-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-049, "Data Center Moratorium," Jackson Township Board of Trustees, 3756 Hoover Road, Grove City, Ohio 43123
- What prompted it: Resident opposition to a proposed data center project; neighboring Grove City (a separate city government) subsequently passed its own one-year moratorium in June 2026
- Affected projects: Unnamed proposed data-center project referenced in local coverage
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31 (within the reported May 2026-May 2027 one-year window).
- Outcome: One-year moratorium on new data centers adopted by resolution
Jerome Township
- Type: Township
- Status: ⚪ Expired
- Date enacted: 2025-09-03
- Normalized date:
2025-09-03(exact) - Duration: 9 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-jerome-township-2025 - Legal basis: Resolution 25-061
- What prompted it: Citizen concerns about noise, lighting, buffering, construction impacts, and performance standards
- Affected projects: Zoning certificate applications for NAICS 518 data centers under specified zoning sections
- Detailed status: Expired approximately 2026-06-03 at the end of the documented nine-month term. Contemporary reporting confirms the moratorium did not prevent some certificates during its term; no later extension action was located through 2026-08-19. [VERIFY: post-expiry trustee action not located]
- Outcome: Intended bridge to zoning text and performance standard updates
Kent
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-15
- Normalized date:
2026-04-15(exact) - Duration: Not to exceed 1 year
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-kent-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2026-31
- What prompted it: Energy, water, infrastructure capacity, environmental, resident, and planning concerns
- Affected projects: Any AI/data center permit or application within city limits
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Community Development, Planning Commission, and Council review of data center impacts and zoning
Lake Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-03
- Normalized date:
2026-03-03(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-lake-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee action reported by The Press/Muck Rack excerpt [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Facebook post linking a Tracy Road/Latcha Road property listing as a potential data center site
- Affected projects: Property at 0 Tracy Road (corner of Tracy and Latcha Roads, Walbridge-area mailing address) marketed via an 8-page listing PDF attributed to JLL (Jones Lang LaSalle) as a potential data-center site; the listing was shared in local Facebook groups. No formal zoning application or site plan had been filed with Lake Township as of the trustees' vote.
- Detailed status: Reported active
- Outcome: No replacement zoning captured
Massillon
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-06
- Normalized date:
2026-04-06(exact) - Duration: 180 days
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-massillon-2026 - Legal basis: City Council ordinance [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Stark County data center concern
- Affected projects: Not specified
- Detailed status: Reported active
- Outcome: No replacement zoning captured
Maumee
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-02
- Normalized date:
2026-02-02(unverified) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-maumee-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 005-2026, 'A Resolution Imposing a Temporary Moratorium on the Establishment, Conversion of Other Structures or Buildings into a Data Center ... for a Period of Twelve (12) Months', passed 6-0 as an emergency measure.
- What prompted it: Data center siting concern near Fallen Timbers and regional concern over large facilities
- Affected projects: No specific developer, applicant, or parcel is named in the resolution; it defines data centers generically (AI, enterprise, managed-services, colocation, cloud, and edge data centers exceeding 5,000 sq ft) and applies city-wide, not to a disclosed project.
- Detailed status: Reported active; corroborated by Monclova Township minutes (2026-02-17) which note "the City of Maumee has enacted a moratorium on this type of development"
- Outcome: Ordinance No. 036-2025 (passed 2026-01-05, 7-0), enacted before the moratorium, amended Maumee Codified Ordinances Section 1125.10 to add 'Data Centers' as a Conditional Use in the C-4 Office, Laboratory, and Research District (not a 'manufacturing' district as previously described). Resolution 005-2026 directs further city study of broader zoning, building, and business-regulation changes.
Monclova Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-17
- Normalized date:
2026-02-17(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-monclova-township-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 02172026-01
- What prompted it: Resident concern over a 200-acre Black Road site, annexation risk to Maumee, and need to retain local zoning control
- Affected projects: Potential 200-acre Black Road-area data center site (per Trustee statements in February 2026 board minutes)
- Detailed status: Active through approximately 2027-02-17
- Outcome: Residents and zoning officials studying model standards and possible zoning amendments
Montgomery Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-17 (trustee vote); reporting indicated trustees would sign the approved resolution on 2026-07-01, but no executed copy or July 1 minutes were located [VERIFY]
- Normalized date:
2026-06-17(exact) - Duration: 2 years from the effective date unless repealed, extended, or replaced
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-montgomery-township-2026 - Legal basis: Township trustee resolution under R.C. Chapter 519
- What prompted it: Trustee-initiated study of data center construction impacts and possible future regulation
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Reported active as of 2026-07-31; the downloaded resolution had blank approval/signature fields, and no executed copy or July 1 meeting minutes confirming signature were located [VERIFY]
- Outcome: Trustees unanimously approved a two-year prohibition on data center construction, prohibiting construction of data centers with aggregate monthly demand or peak load above 25 MW while the township studies impacts and possible regulation
Mount Orab
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-03 (confirmed via WLWT 2026-04 reporting: "On March 3, village leaders voted to impose a six-month moratorium on data center projects")
- Normalized date:
2026-03-03(exact) - Duration: 180 days
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-mount-orab-2026 - Legal basis: Village council ordinance [CITE: ordinance number not posted on Mt.Orab village website 2026-04-29; village site has minimal online presence]
- What prompted it: Resident backlash over a roughly 1,200-acre mega-site data center proposal (DB STU LLC; State Route 32 site valued $43M+) and nondisclosure agreements signed by elected officials
- Affected projects: DB STU LLC ~1,200-acre State Route 32 mega-site in Brown County
- Detailed status: Reported active; council also debating reversal of 2024 zoning changes that enabled the project
- Outcome: State transparency debate; Rep. Adam Bird's HB 695 NDA-ban legislation followed
Pierce Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-11
- Normalized date:
2026-02-11(exact) - Duration: 8 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-pierce-township-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-002
- What prompted it: Zoning resolution did not define or regulate data center uses; concerns over compatibility, infrastructure demand, utility use, noise, scale, and property impacts
- Affected projects: No specific project identified
- Detailed status: Active through approximately 2026-10-11
- Outcome: Township staff and Zoning Commission directed to develop text or map amendments
Plain City
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟡 Pending
- Date enacted: —
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: Proposed 12-month moratorium on new data center applications (not yet enacted; legislation expected to return for a vote at an August 2026 regular meeting)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-plain-city-undated - Legal basis: Proposed village ordinance; council directed legislation be prepared on 2026-07-13, no ordinance number yet assigned
- What prompted it: Council-directed preparation of moratorium legislation on new data center applications
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Pending as of 2026-07-31; legislation had not yet returned for a council vote [VERIFY instrument number; adoption date; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Village council voted to have legislation prepared for a 12-month moratorium on new data center applications, with the vote expected at an August regular meeting; this was a direction to draft legislation, not enactment
Plain Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-24
- Normalized date:
2026-03-24(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-plain-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee resolution [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Stark County data center concern
- Affected projects: Not specified
- Detailed status: Reported active
- Outcome: No replacement zoning captured
Providence Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-15
- Normalized date:
2026-04-15(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-providence-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee action using Waterville Township language, per Toledo Free Press [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Residents' concern about potential east-side township data center siting and lack of zoning language
- Affected projects: No specific application identified
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Township intends to follow Waterville Township committee recommendations for zoning updates
Ravenna
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-20
- Normalized date:
2026-04-20(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, cryptocurrency mining
- Moratorium ID:
oh-ravenna-2026 - Legal basis: City Council ordinance/paperwork reported by Record-Courier [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Property owner interest in a data center at a former GE manufacturing site and gap in zoning code
- Affected projects: Potential State Route 14/former GE site; existing 500-server bitcoin mining operation reported on property
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Study and drafting of zoning code for data centers, server farms, and cryptocurrency mining facilities
Richfield Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-17
- Normalized date:
2026-02-17(unverified) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-richfield-township-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 021726-01, a 12-month moratorium on data center facilities, energy-producing/storage facilities, and commercial/industrial high-energy-use facilities in all zoning districts, adopted as an emergency measure (citing the lack of a zoning inspector).
- What prompted it: Anthony Wayne area data center concern
- Affected projects: Not specified
- Detailed status: Active; no rescission or repeal found in the township's own February 2026 minutes or subsequent public records checked.
- Outcome: No replacement zoning captured
Scioto Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-05 (Thursday trustee meeting per Scioto Post; Trustee Wasmus introduced 2 weeks earlier; debate over 6 vs 12 months ended in 12-month vote)
- Normalized date:
2026-03-05(exact) - Duration: 12 months (Trustee Wolfe's 6-month proposal rejected)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-scioto-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee resolution reported by Scioto Post [CITE: resolution number not posted to township website 2026-04-29]
- What prompted it: Rapid AI/data center expansion and township zoning concerns; current zoning code has "little to no language" addressing such facilities
- Affected projects: No specific project identified
- Detailed status: Reported active
- Outcome: Zoning language review expected during 12-month moratorium
Shawnee Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-13
- Normalized date:
2026-04-13(exact) - Duration: 18 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage, solar
- Moratorium ID:
oh-shawnee-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee resolution reported by WLIO [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Zoning board recommendation and resident concern over data centers, battery energy storage systems, and solar energy fields
- Affected projects: No specific project identified
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Study period for multi-sector land-use regulations
South Bloomfield
- Type: Village
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: 2025-12-15
- Normalized date:
2025-12-15(unverified) - Duration: 180 days
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-south-bloomfield-2025 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2025-28, 'An Ordinance Imposing a 180-Day Moratorium on the Receipt, Processing, Issuance, and Approval of Any Application for a Zoning Certificate for Any Use Related to Data Processing, Hosting and Related Services (Data Centers) and Declaring an Emergency', passed December 15, 2025 as an emergency measure.
- What prompted it: Pickaway County data center interest, health concerns, unanswered questions, and zoning-code review
- Affected projects: Possible Crites Farm discussion; no formal project confirmed in captured reporting
- Detailed status: The 180-day moratorium (Ordinance 2025-28) expired on its own terms around 2026-06-13 with no extension found. The same day the moratorium passed, Council also adopted Ordinance 2025-26, 'An Ordinance to Adopt the 2025 Edition of the Village of South Bloomfield Planning and Zoning Book,' a comprehensive rewrite; the moratorium's own recitals acknowledge the village lacked adequate 'processes, resources, utilities, and infrastructure' for data centers at the time.
- Outcome: Village reportedly adopted new zoning code that does not list data centers as permitted uses
Spencer Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-05
- Normalized date:
2026-03-05(unverified) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-spencer-township-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-03-05, imposing a 12-month moratorium on 'the approval, establishment or construction of advanced manufacturing facilities or uses' within Spencer Township, prepared by Legal Counsel Jeff Stopar and adopted by unanimous roll-call vote (Kester, Havens, Hood).
- What prompted it: Anthony Wayne area data center concern
- Affected projects: Not specified
- Detailed status: Active; no rescission found in the adopting meeting's minutes or in subsequent web search as of this pass.
- Outcome: No replacement zoning captured
Sprigg Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-02
- Normalized date:
2026-03-02(exact) - Duration: 12 months voluntary moratorium
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-sprigg-township-2026 - Legal basis: Trustee action reported by WCPO [CITE primary text not captured]
- What prompted it: Proposed data center activity around the former Stuart power plant in Adams County
- Affected projects: Stuart plant-area data center proposal; Army Corps Nationwide Permit No. 39 reported
- Detailed status: Reported active
- Outcome: Ohio Residents for Responsible Development petition activity intensified
Springfield
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-14 (second reading, 5-0)
- Normalized date:
2026-07-14(exact) - Duration: 6 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-springfield-2026 - Legal basis: City Commission ordinance, passed 5-0 on second reading; Ordinance 159-26
- What prompted it: City study of 'High-Density Computing Facilities' as a land use before permitting is resumed
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2027-01-10
- Outcome: City Commission passed Ordinance 159-26 by a 5-0 vote after its second reading, imposing a six-month moratorium on the establishment, development, processing, review, and approval of High-Density Computing Facilities
St. Marys
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-22 (passed with one abstention)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-22(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-st-marys-2026 - Legal basis: City Council Emergency Resolution 2026-08
- What prompted it: Resident Dakota Humphries raised environmental, utility, infrastructure, privacy, and economic concerns at a May 11 meeting; city officials said no developer had contacted the city
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through approximately 2027-06-22
- Outcome: Council passed Emergency Resolution 2026-08 with one abstention, imposing a 12-month moratorium on establishing or converting buildings to data centers and on development or construction that would allow the use, while the city reviews federal, state, and local rules
Tallmadge
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-13
- Normalized date:
2026-04-13(unverified) - Duration: 6 months or until code changes/revocation
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-tallmadge-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2026-38
- What prompted it: Current zoning code may not address energy and water consumption, land use, building quality, aesthetics, lighting, noise, location, and environmental effects
- Affected projects: No pending applications reported
- Detailed status: Active. Council minutes for April 13, 2026 confirm the public hearing closed at 6:30 p.m. with no public comment, and Ordinance 2026-38 was then adopted by a 7-0 vote (motion by Kline, seconded by Pavlik) the same evening, satisfying the three-fourths-vote/immediate-enactment requirement.
- Outcome: Review of zoning and business regulations; hardship appeal process included (ORC Chapter 2506 appeal pathway)
Tiffin
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-20 (third reading waived; passed 6-0 on third reading, declared emergency by second 6-0 vote per tiffinohio.net)
- Normalized date:
2026-04-20(exact) - Duration: Up to 12 months; clock stops early if zoning review completes earlier
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-tiffin-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-42 (sharpened from "unnumbered ordinance" — confirmed via tiffinohio.net reporting)
- What prompted it: Desire to craft zoning rules or consider prohibition while Ohio lawmakers consider statewide regulation; Law Director Zach Fowler walked council through proposal in March; City Administrator Nick Dutro framed purpose
- Affected projects: No data center proposal in Tiffin per Mayor Lee Wilkinson at April 6 council meeting
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Zoning options under review; bars establishment or conversion of any structure into a data center for up to 12 months
Vermilion
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-23 (effective date; Section 1 of Ordinance 2026-17 specifies the moratorium runs through March 23, 2027, indicating a March 23, 2026 effective date upon mayoral approval)
- Normalized date:
2026-03-23(exact) - Duration: Through 2027-03-23
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-vermilion-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2026-17
- What prompted it: Need for administration, Planning Commission, and Council to review Ohio statutes, regulations, and local ordinances
- Affected projects: Any data center development in any zoning district; expansion of existing businesses into data center use also barred
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Study period for possible local regulatory controls
Village of Ashville
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2025-12-22
- Normalized date:
2025-12-22(unverified) - Duration: 180 days (Ord. 2025-13, originally recorded 2025-12-22 to 2026-06-20), followed by a second 180-day moratorium under Ordinance 2026-14 (adopted 2026-07-06), through approximately 2027-01-02
- Current end date:
2027-01-02 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-ashville-2025 - Legal basis: Ordinance 2025-13; extended by Ordinance 2026-14 (adopted 2026-07-06 as an emergency measure, readings waived)
- What prompted it: Proposed EdgeConneX project, resident opposition, infrastructure and zoning capacity concerns
- Affected projects: Proposed EdgeConneX data center near Ashville
- Detailed status: Extended via Ordinance 2026-14, adopted as an emergency measure at the 2026-07-06 Council meeting, imposing another 180-day moratorium (through approximately 2027-01-02); succeeds the original Ordinance 2025-13 (expired 2026-06-20).
- Outcome: Resolution 06-2026 authorized a development/consultant-funding agreement (Term Summary, Exhibit A) with EdgeConneX/PowerConneX, allocating $39,300 for GAI Consultants' independent technical review of the proposed project. It did not repeal the moratorium, which was instead independently extended by Ordinance 2026-14 on 2026-07-06.
Village of Lordstown
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-01-05
- Normalized date:
2026-01-05(exact) - Duration: 180 days (Ord. 1-2026, effective 2026-01-05 through 2026-07-04), extended a further 180 days by a second emergency ordinance passed mid-June 2026, effective 2026-07-05 through approximately 2027-01-02
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-lordstown-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 1-2026; extended by a second emergency ordinance passed by Village Council in mid-June 2026 following a 2026-06-15 public hearing (exact ordinance number not confirmed in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: Electric load, water demand, infrastructure capacity, environmental impacts, and long-term land use planning
- Affected projects: Bristolville 25 Developer, LLC proposed data center; village had earlier data center ban controversy
- Detailed status: Extended: following a public hearing on 2026-06-15, Village Council passed an emergency ordinance extending the moratorium another 180 days, effective 2026-07-05 through approximately 2027-01-02 (reported passage dates vary slightly, 2026-06-16/17, across sources). Litigation brought by Bristolville 25 Developer LLC/BHGH Properties LLC is before the Ohio Supreme Court (not the Trumbull County Court of Common Pleas), and remained pending with no ruling located as of the sources reviewed (dated through 2026-06-08).
- Outcome: Moratorium committee gathering information; consultant and outside counsel discussed
Washington Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2025-12-09
- Normalized date:
2025-12-08(unverified) - Duration: 90 days initial (2025-12-09 to 2026-03-09), then extended six months to 2026-09-05 by Resolution #2026.02.10.005, adopted unanimously (roll call, all present voting Aye) at the February 10, 2026 trustee meeting.
- Current end date:
2026-09-05 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-washington-township-2025 - Legal basis: Board of Trustees Motion #2025.12.09.001 (90-day initial moratorium, 2025-12-09), extended by Resolution #2026.02.10.005 (2026-02-10), citing R.C. 519.02 (township zoning authority).
- What prompted it: Resident and trustee concerns over grid strain, water use, fire safety, noise, and compatibility with residential land use
- Affected projects: No pending applications identified in captured township records
- Detailed status: Active. The Board unanimously extended the moratorium six months, from March 9, 2026 to September 5, 2026, via Resolution #2026.02.10.005; the moratorium is therefore still in force as of the 2026-07-31 research date, not expired.
- Outcome: Legal review and possible zoning work; final extension record not captured
Waterville Township
- Type: Township
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2025-12-17
- Normalized date:
2025-12-17(exact) - Duration: 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-waterville-township-2025 - Legal basis: Township trustee resolution [CITE: resolution number not posted to township website; Toledo Free Press cited the 12-month moratorium and committee process]
- What prompted it: Potential data center interest and need to study conditions for agriculturally zoned land
- Affected projects: No formal application identified; township committee studying data center zoning
- Detailed status: Active through approximately December 2026; no rescission found. A Data Center Advisory Committee (one trustee, one zoning board member, one BZA member, the zoning inspector, and 10 residents), formed January 2026, presented its findings to the Zoning Board on 2026-05-12, recommending a new M-3 Industrial zoning classification with tiered regulations, bonding/escrow requirements, and a formal process; the zoning board voted 6-0 to move the proposal to the Lucas County Plan Commission for review.
- Outcome: Data center study committee expected to report in summer 2026
Williamsburg
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-12, Village Council, signed by Mayor James Weaver
- Normalized date:
2026-03-12(exact) - Duration: One year from effective date
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-williamsburg-2026 - Legal basis: Ordinance 1249-26, "An Ordinance Imposing a Moratorium on the Authorization or Establishment of Computer Data Centers within the Village of Williamsburg, Ohio and Declaring an Emergency"
- What prompted it: Council desired time to study the economic and environmental impacts of data centers on the Village and its residents and to develop siting/operation regulations
- Affected projects: None named; enacted preemptively
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31 (one-year term runs to approximately March 12, 2027). Declared an emergency measure, effective at the earliest date allowed by law; applies to all pending applications for which a final, non-appealable permit had not been issued as of the ordinance's introduction.
- Outcome: One-year moratorium on the authorization or establishment of computer data centers
Yellow Springs
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-18 (emergency reading)
- Normalized date:
2026-05-18(exact) - Duration: 12 months, expiring 2027-05-18
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
oh-yellow-springs-2026 - Legal basis: Village Council emergency ordinance; Ordinance 2026-08
- What prompted it: Pause on zoning permits/approvals for new data centers with aggregate monthly demand or peak load above 2 MW, and for expansions of existing facilities crossing that threshold; council narrowed the proposal at a May 4 work session before adopting it May 18
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31; runs through 2027-05-18 unless repealed or replaced earlier
- Outcome: Adopted by emergency reading; bars zoning permits/approvals for new or expanded data centers above 2 MW aggregate demand for 12 months, with exemptions for auxiliary data centers and applications/permits already submitted or issued
Source: moratorium_inventory.csv · Methodology · Codebook.