Kansas local moratoria
Every local infrastructure moratorium in the inventory for Kansas, current through September 23, 2026.
26 instruments — 23 in force, 0 pending, 3 past.
State policy is tracked separately: 12 actions (12 bills) in state_legislation.csv. These are not included in the local count above.
| Jurisdiction | Type | Enacted | Sectors | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allen County | County | 2025-01 | battery storage | ⚪ Replaced |
| Bourbon County | County | 2026-06-15 | data center, cryptocurrency mining, general | 🟢 Active |
| Brown County | County | 2026-03-02 | data center, battery storage, solar, cryptocurrency mining | 🟢 Active |
| Dickinson County | County | 2026-07-30 | data center, battery storage, solar, wind | 🟢 Active |
| El Dorado | City | 2026-07-13 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Franklin County | County | 2026-09-02 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Geary County | County | 2026-06-22 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Harvey County | County | 2026-01-13 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Kingman County | County | 2026-02-09 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Lawrence | City | 2026-07-14 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Leavenworth County | County | 2026-05-13 | data center | ⚪ Expired |
| Lyon County | County | 2026-07-23 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Lyon County | County | 2026-07-23 | solar | 🟢 Active |
| Marion County | County | 2026-03-02 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Extended |
| Marysville | City | 2026-09 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| McPherson County | County | 2025-08-04 | data center, cryptocurrency mining, battery storage | ⚪ Replaced |
| Miami County | County | 2026-03 | data center, battery storage, solar, wind | 🟢 Active |
| Neosho County | County | 2026-05-19 | data center, battery storage, general | 🟢 Active |
| Riley County | County | 2026-05-18 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Saline County | County | 2026-03-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Sedgwick County | County | 2026-01-14 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Sedgwick County | County | 2026-03-11 | battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Sedgwick County | County | 2026-06-17 | solar | 🟢 Active |
| Shawnee County | County | 2026-08-13 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| South Hutchinson | City | 2026-05-26 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Topeka | City | 2026-07-14 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
Detailed entries
Allen County
- Type: County
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: 2025-01 (Commissioners approved a 180-day moratorium)
- Normalized date:
2025-01(month_only) - Duration: 180-day moratorium, replaced by permanent regulations
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-allen-county-2025 - Legal basis: Board-approved 180-day moratorium (reduced from a proposed 12-month version), replaced by a Board-adopted BESS resolution on 2025-06-10
- What prompted it: Mission Clean Energy proposal for a 300 MW BESS facility near Savonburg and Elsmore; no BESS-specific zoning standards existed.
- Affected projects: Mission Clean Energy 300 MW BESS proposal (did not proceed in Allen County).
- Detailed status: Replaced. Commissioners approved a 180-day moratorium in January 2025 at the Planning and Zoning Board's request; on 2025-06-10 the Board of Commissioners approved a permanent resolution establishing BESS standards (special-use permitting, 1,000-ft resident notification), superseding the moratorium. The original proposal that prompted it, Mission Clean Energy's 300 MW facility, did not proceed.
- Outcome: Permanent special-use BESS regulations in effect as of 2025-06-10.
Bourbon County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-15
- Normalized date:
2026-06-15(exact) - Duration: 365 days from adoption (2026-06-15 through approximately 2027-06-15), succeeding a prior moratorium that had expired the day before adoption.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, cryptocurrency mining, general
- Moratorium ID:
ks-bourbon-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 24-26, adopted 2026-06-15 by a 3-0 vote (Commissioners Joe Allen and Gregg Motley abstaining).
- What prompted it: Continuation of the county's prior development moratorium, which had expired the day before this resolution was adopted, while the county works with a hired consultant (Confluence) to develop a comprehensive plan and zoning regulations.
- Affected projects: Commercial solar projects from Tennyson Creek Solar LLC, Tennyson Creek Solar II LLC, and Hinton Creek Solar LLC are explicitly exempted from the moratorium.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs approximately through 2027-06-15 absent further action.
- Outcome: 365-day freeze on utility-scale power generation, cryptocurrency mining, data center, and waste disposal operations in Bourbon County while the county develops a comprehensive plan and zoning regulations with consultant Confluence.
Brown County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-02 (confirmed by signed BoCC minutes, Book V Page 129)
- Normalized date:
2026-03-02(exact) - Duration: 18 months or until regulations are adopted, whichever comes first
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage, solar, cryptocurrency mining
- Moratorium ID:
ks-brown-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-10 (motion by Chairman Heinen, seconded by Commissioner Pollock, motion carried unanimously per official minutes)
- What prompted it: County counselor Austin Parker framed the pause under police powers to study public health, public safety, and welfare impacts of data centers, battery energy storage systems, solar energy, chip manufacturing, and cryptocurrency projects, on recommendation of the Brown County Planning Commission.
- Affected projects: Projects involving data centers, BESS, solar energy, chip manufacturing, and cryptocurrency operations in Brown County.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Planning Commission to consider recommendations for regulation.
Dickinson County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-30
- Normalized date:
2026-07-30(exact) - Duration: Structured as 12 months per covered category, staggered: data centers expire 2027-07-30, battery energy storage systems expire 2028-07-30, and renewable energy facilities (e.g., wind, solar) expire 2029-07-30; the resolution as a whole 'shall ... remain in full force ... until July 30, 2029.'
- Current end date:
2027-07-30 - Sectors: data center, battery storage, solar, wind
- Moratorium ID:
ks-dickinson-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution # 073026, signed and passed 2026-07-30 by Chairman Kenny Roelofsen and Vice Chair Lynn Peterson, citing K.S.A. 12-741 et seq. and K.S.A. 19-101 et seq. police power; excludes uses already defined/enabled under Article 21 of the county zoning regulations and off-grid, on-site residential/commercial renewable installations.
- What prompted it: The county's Comprehensive Plan would generally allow incorporating provisions for data centers, BESS, and alternative energy technology into zoning regulations, but commissioners wanted a strategic pause to evaluate potential impacts on current and future property owners before adopting standards; no applications for these uses had been filed as of the July 2026 Planning Commission recommendation.
- Affected projects: None identified as pending in the resolution or sources retrieved.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; the data-center-specific component runs through 2027-07-30, with BESS and renewable-energy components running longer (through 2028-07-30 and 2029-07-30 respectively) under the same resolution.
- Outcome: Suspends acceptance/processing of Conditional Use Permit applications and construction/erection permits for commercial data centers, BESS, and renewable energy projects (other than those already covered by Article 21 of the zoning code) in unincorporated Dickinson County, directing the Planning and Zoning Board to review and update the zoning regulations for each use category over its respective term.
El Dorado
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-13
- Normalized date:
2026-07-13(exact) - Duration: From adoption at a July 13, 2026 special meeting through November 30, 2026.
- Current end date:
2026-11-30 - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-el-dorado-2026 - Legal basis: El Dorado City Commission resolution, adopted 4-1 at a special meeting on 2026-07-13 (resolution number not confirmed in sources retrieved), providing an interim moratorium on the development of data centers and battery energy storage systems.
- What prompted it: A citizen-initiated petition (certified 2026-06-25 by the Butler County Clerk) sought to adopt an ordinance prohibiting 'high-impact' data centers (>10 MW peak load or >100,000 gal/day water draw) and Tier 2/Tier 3 battery energy storage systems; the City Commission voted to seek a declaratory judgment on whether the petition was a valid citizen-initiative subject, and adopted the interim moratorium to hold the status quo while that litigation proceeds.
- Affected projects: No pending data center or BESS development proposal identified in sources retrieved; the moratorium is explicitly framed as holding the status quo during the petition litigation.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through 2026-11-30 absent further action. The underlying citizen-petition litigation (declaratory judgment sought from the District Court of Butler County) remained pending as of the sources retrieved.
- Outcome: Suspends development of data centers and battery storage systems in El Dorado through Nov. 30, 2026, 'demonstrat[ing] the City Commission's willingness to allow the process to proceed without considering a development proposal for the uses described in the petition ordinance' while the city seeks a declaratory judgment on the petition's validity.
Franklin County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-09-02
- Normalized date:
2026-09-02(exact) - Duration: From the Sept. 2, 2026 commission meeting through Dec. 31, 2028.
- Current end date:
2028-12-31 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-franklin-county-2026 - Legal basis: Franklin County Board of County Commissioners resolution adopted unanimously at the Sept. 2, 2026 meeting (resolution number not given in sources retrieved); the Aug. 26, 2026 meeting first indicated commissioners' intent to place a moratorium on data centers.
- What prompted it: Not detailed in the sources retrieved beyond the commission's stated intent (expressed Aug. 26, 2026) to pause data center development while the county considers its approach.
- Affected projects: Not specified in the sources retrieved.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through 2028-12-31 absent further action.
- Outcome: Temporary stop to the planning, establishment, construction, and special-use-permit applications for data centers or related activities/components in unincorporated Franklin County.
Geary County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-22 (per KSNT reporting)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-22(exact) - Duration: One year from adoption
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-geary-county-2026 - Legal basis: County resolution (exact number not stated in the source retrieved)
- What prompted it: Concerns about data center infrastructure demands on water and power, and resource competition with local farmers and ranchers.
- Affected projects: Not specified in the source retrieved.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31 (adopted 2026-06-22, after this dataset's 2026-04-28 coverage cutoff)
- Outcome: Directs county planning/zoning staff to study data center impacts during the pause.
Harvey County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-01-13
- Normalized date:
2026-01-13(exact) - Duration: Through 2029-01-01, unless amended, extended, or terminated earlier
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-harvey-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-04
- What prompted it: Questions and concerns about regulating data centers in unincorporated areas; unknown impacts on current and future property owners; need to review the comprehensive plan and unified development code.
- Affected projects: No application had been submitted when enacted.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Planning and zoning staff and the Planning Commission were directed to review and update the comprehensive plan and code.
Kingman County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-02-09
- Normalized date:
2026-02-09(exact) - Duration: 18 months from effective date, unless reduced or extended
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-kingman-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-R9
- What prompted it: Kingman County zoning already allowed data centers by special use permit, but planning and zoning boards requested review of all data-center zoning code provisions and public concerns had been raised.
- Affected projects: Any data center special use permit or zoning/use modification submitted after the effective date.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: County officials and planning boards must consider amendments and additions to zoning code provisions governing data center applications and guidelines.
Lawrence
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-14
- Normalized date:
2026-07-14(exact) - Duration: 24 months from adoption or until the city repeals it, whichever comes first (2026-07-14 through approximately 2028-07-14).
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-lawrence-2026 - Legal basis: Lawrence City Commission action, adopted unanimously (5-0) on 2026-07-14, imposing a 24-month moratorium on data center uses within city limits alongside initiation of two Land Development Code text amendments (one requiring a special use permit for data centers instead of by-right development, one directing staff to study water/environmental, energy, utility-cost, noise/light, and setback issues).
- What prompted it: The current Land Development Code allowed data centers in industrial districts by right, with no special approval required; a large crowd of residents urged restrictions, and commissioners wanted time for planning staff to develop new rules (a 12-month option was considered but the commission chose 24 months 'to ensure planning staff had more time'). No specific data center proposal was pending in Lawrence at adoption.
- Affected projects: None identified as pending at adoption; director of planning and development Jeff Crick said he was not aware of any proposals to develop a data center in Lawrence.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through approximately 2028-07-14 or until repealed. As of a Sept. 21, 2026 follow-up report, the Planning Commission was recommending additional layers to the data-center approval process as part of the same text-amendment process begun in July.
- Outcome: 24-month freeze on data center uses within Lawrence city limits while planning staff draft a special-use-permit requirement and study issues (water, energy/utility costs, noise, light, setbacks) for a new data center ordinance; includes a narrow property-owner exception process reviewed against the intent of the pending text amendment.
Leavenworth County
- Type: County
- Status: ⚪ Expired
- Date enacted: 2026-05-13
- Normalized date:
2026-05-13(exact) - Duration: 90 days from adoption (2026-05-13 through approximately 2026-08-11), passed 4-1.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-leavenworth-county-2026 - Legal basis: Leavenworth County Commission resolution, adopted 4-1 at the May 13, 2026 meeting, pausing acceptance of data-center applications in unincorporated county areas and directing planning staff to prepare data-center regulations.
- What prompted it: Project Bluestem, a proposed ~600-megawatt (developer statements later cited up to 1.2-gigawatt) hyperscale data center on 1,000+ acres south of Tonganoxie (Cloverleaf Infrastructure/Tailgate Ranch site), drew sustained community opposition (Citizens Against Bluestem) over noise, air quality, health, and infrastructure concerns.
- Affected projects: Project Bluestem (Cloverleaf Infrastructure), a proposed hyperscale data center south of Tonganoxie; no application had been filed as of the sources retrieved.
- Detailed status: Expired 2026-08-11. An extension to Jan. 31, 2027 failed 3-2 at the Aug. 5, 2026 commission meeting; at an Aug. 13, 2026 meeting the commission voted 4-1 to 'revisit' imposing a hold on any decisions until after three new commissioners take office in January 2027, but had not formally re-enacted a moratorium as of the sources retrieved (Sept. 18, 2026 reporting describes Project Bluestem as still in the early stages of the county application process, with no active moratorium mentioned). No applications had been filed for the project as of the sources retrieved.
- Outcome: 90-day pause on data-center applications in unincorporated Leavenworth County lapsed without a successful extension; three sitting commissioners (two of whom did not seek re-election) opted to defer any renewed pause or decision on Project Bluestem to the incoming commission taking office in January 2027, rather than formally re-adopting a moratorium.
Lyon County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-23
- Normalized date:
2026-07-23(exact) - Duration: Through 2027-01-22
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-lyon-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 12-26
- What prompted it: Reported alongside contentious Emporia city commission meetings on data center projects; specific rationale not detailed in the source retrieved.
- Affected projects: Not specified in the source retrieved.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31 (adopted 2026-07-23, after this dataset's 2026-04-28 coverage cutoff)
- Outcome: Directs county staff to halt receipt, review, hearing, or granting of data center and battery-energy-storage-system applications during the suspension period.
Lyon County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-23
- Normalized date:
2026-07-23(exact) - Duration: Through 2026-12-01
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: solar
- Moratorium ID:
ks-lyon-county-2026-2 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 13-26
- What prompted it: Adopted alongside the data-center/BESS moratorium (Resolution No. 12-26); specific rationale not detailed in the source retrieved.
- Affected projects: Not specified in the source retrieved.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-07-31 (adopted 2026-07-23, after this dataset's 2026-04-28 coverage cutoff)
- Outcome: Directs county staff to halt receipt, review, hearing, or granting of commercial solar energy conversion system applications during the suspension period.
Marion County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-03-02 (per Citizen Portal AI summary of the March 3, 2026 commission action)
- Normalized date:
2026-03-02(exact) - Duration: Through 2027-06-01: Resolution No. 2026-12 (adopted 2026-03-02) originally ran through 2026-06-01; the Marion County BoCC unanimously adopted Resolution No. 2026-19 on 2026-05-11, extending the moratorium for one additional year, through 2027-06-01. (A separate Feb. 17, 2026 action had adopted a one-year battery-energy-storage moratorium expiring March 1, 2027; commissioners had earlier discussed a one-year pause on data centers but initially adopted a three-month interim instrument before extending it to a full year.)
- Current end date:
2027-06-01 - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-marion-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 2026-12, "A Resolution Providing for a Temporary Moratorium on the Acceptance of Applications Relating to the Establishment, Operation or Expansion of Data Centers within the Unincorporated Areas of Marion County, Kansas," citing K.S.A. 12-741 et seq. and K.S.A. 19-101 et seq. police power; passed and adopted March 2, 2026 (unanimous, 5-0; signed by Chairman Dave Crofoot, attested by County Clerk Ashley Herpich, county seal affixed). Extended one year by Resolution No. 2026-19, "A Resolution Extending the Temporary Moratorium...," passed and adopted May 11, 2026 (unanimous, 5-0).
- What prompted it: County commissioners sought time to understand battery storage and data centers after presentations from Flint Hills Rural Electric Cooperative and Kansas Electric Power Cooperative; concerns included safety and protecting county residents.
- Affected projects: Data-center and related energy/discharge facilities exceeding 10 MW in unincorporated Marion County; staff stated the language excludes smaller stand-alone relay or hosting facilities.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; extended through 2027-06-01 by Resolution No. 2026-19 (unanimous 5-0 BoCC vote, adopted 2026-05-11), confirmed against the signed resolution text. No further Marion County commission action on the moratorium was found in news coverage through 2026-09-23.
- Outcome: Planning and zoning staff expected to prepare permanent rules.
Marysville
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-09 (City Council vote unanimous; exact day not confirmed -- reported as adopted in a 'pre-ordinance 19-54' per a Citizen Portal AI meeting summary, with the ordinance text appearing in the Marysville Advocate the same week)
- Normalized date:
2026-09(month_only) - Duration: 12 months from adoption; exact start date not confirmed, so the end date cannot be reliably computed.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-marysville-2026 - Legal basis: Marysville City Council pre-ordinance 19-54, adopted unanimously (voice vote per Citizen Portal AI summary).
- What prompted it: Not detailed beyond staff/council wanting time to study land-use implications and coordination with Marshall County; Marysville's mayor had separately written to Marshall County in July 2026 asking the county to join the city in enacting a moratorium.
- Affected projects: Not specified in sources retrieved.
- Detailed status: Reported as active as of the sources retrieved (a Sept. 2026 aggregator entry); exact status as of 2026-09-23 not independently re-confirmed. [VERIFY primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: 12-month pause on new data center development applications in Marysville to allow staff and council time to study potential impacts and land-use policy options, including whether extraterritorial or county-level coordination is needed.
McPherson County
- Type: County
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: 2025-08-04
- Normalized date:
2025-08-04(exact) - Duration: Initially adopted 2025-08-04 (Resolution 2025-14) with an initial end date of 2026-03-01; later extended to 2026-12-01 (confirmed via convergent independent reporting: Wichita Eagle 2026-08 report and Citizen Journal's 2026-08-31 article both state the county's temporary freeze was 'due to expire Dec. 1'; the primary signed extension-resolution PDF was not located). Superseded early: on 2026-08-31 the McPherson County Commission voted unanimously (3-0) to adopt Resolution 2026-21, permanently banning data centers and utility-scale battery storage from unincorporated county land (and barring hydrogen energy systems except at refineries), ending the moratorium roughly three months before its scheduled Dec. 1, 2026 expiration. The ban carries no stated end date.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, cryptocurrency mining, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-mcpherson-county-2025 - Legal basis: Original temporary moratorium: Resolution 2025-14 (adopted by unanimous voice vote per Citizen Portal AI summary of August 4, 2025 commission meeting); primary signed text not yet captured [VERIFY signed copy]. Superseding instrument: Resolution 2026-21, adopted 2026-08-31 by unanimous (3-0) vote of the McPherson County Commission (moved by Commissioner Tom Kueser, seconded by Chairman Keith Becker), permanently banning data centers and utility-scale battery storage from all county land outside city limits and barring hydrogen energy systems except at refineries, as part of a broader rewrite of the county's zoning rules following a 5-2 planning board recommendation (2026-08-17) to ban the uses.
- What prompted it: Planning staff requested time for the planning board to study data centers and cryptocurrency mining under the comprehensive plan and zoning regulations; concerns included noise, water usage, siting near substations and industrial zones, and conditional-use standards.
- Affected projects: Existing smaller Bitcoin/data-center operators (KV Enterprises) and a prospective 50 MW AI-scale proposal (Vincent Zottola, Midwest Mining/East Coast ASEC) were discussed at adoption per Citizen Portal AI meeting summary.
- Detailed status: Replaced 2026-08-31; the McPherson County Commission voted unanimously (3-0) to adopt Resolution 2026-21, permanently banning data centers and utility-scale battery storage from all county land outside city limits (and barring hydrogen energy systems except at refineries), ending the temporary moratorium roughly three months before its scheduled Dec. 1, 2026 expiration. The ban has no end date and remains in force unless a future commission repeals it. The McPherson County Planning and Zoning Board had recommended the ban 5-2 on 2026-08-17 after a 13-month freeze, roughly 90 research documents, and a 147-person planning board hearing on 2026-08-10.
- Outcome: McPherson County banned data centers, utility-scale battery storage, and hydrogen energy systems (except at refineries) outright via Resolution 2026-21 (2026-08-31), rather than adopting permanent siting/conditional-use regulations -- among the first Kansas counties to do so. The same rewrite requires new or expanded industrial/warehouse buildings over 10,000 sq ft to disclose planned electricity draw and backup generation/cooling equipment, and requires new industrial land uses to go through a public hearing rather than a staff-issued permit.
Miami County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Early 2026, precise adoption date not confirmed in sources retrieved (commissioners were still considering the moratorium as of a Feb. 19, 2026 KSHB report and a Feb. 23, 2026 KOFO report; a May 2026 KSHB follow-up refers to the moratorium as already adopted 'earlier this year')
- Normalized date:
2026-03(unverified) - Duration: Three years from adoption, restricting data centers, battery storage, and similar technologies in unincorporated areas; does not apply to the City of Osawatomie's in-city 'Project Catalyst' data center site.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage, solar, wind
- Moratorium ID:
ks-miami-county-2026 - Legal basis: Miami County Board of County Commissioners resolution (number and exact adoption date not confirmed in sources retrieved); proposed by Presiding Commissioner George Pretz following a Feb. 2026 pre-development agreement between the City of Osawatomie and Alcove Development for a $1 billion data center.
- What prompted it: A proposed ~$1 billion, 600,000-sq-ft data center (Alcove Development's 'Project Catalyst,' later sited within Osawatomie city limits) prompted resident concern over utility costs, water use, and quality of life; commissioners wanted time to study impacts before allowing similar development in unincorporated areas.
- Affected projects: Excludes the City of Osawatomie's in-city 'Project Catalyst' Alcove Development data center site (city land is outside county zoning jurisdiction).
- Detailed status: Reported as active/in force as of a May 2026 KSHB follow-up story; exact current status as of 2026-09-23 not independently re-confirmed this pass. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.5 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Pauses new applications for data centers, battery storage, and similar technologies in unincorporated Miami County while the county studies regulations, mirroring an earlier county moratorium on solar and wind projects.
Neosho County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-19 (signed resolution)
- Normalized date:
2026-05-19(exact) - Duration: Effective upon adoption/publication and remaining in effect until June 1, 2027, unless extended, terminated early, or amended by subsequent resolution.
- Current end date:
2027-06-01 - Sectors: data center, battery storage, general
- Moratorium ID:
ks-neosho-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution R-26-7, "Providing for a Temporary Moratorium on the Acceptance of Applications Relating to the Establishment, Operation or Expansion of Data Centers, Nuclear Power Generation Facilities, Hydrogen-Based Energy Facilities, and Battery Energy Storage Systems within the Unincorporated Areas of Neosho County," adopted and signed 2026-05-19 by Chairman Gail Klaassen, citing K.S.A. 19-101 et seq. police power.
- What prompted it: The Neosho County Commission had already developed regulations for wind, commercial-scale solar, and battery energy storage, but had received no applications for data centers, nuclear power generation, hydrogen-based energy, or (further) battery storage facilities; commissioners wanted time to review and potentially adopt land development regulations for these uses before any applications arrived.
- Affected projects: No applications for the covered uses had been submitted in unincorporated Neosho County as of adoption.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through 2027-06-01 absent further action.
- Outcome: Suspends acceptance/processing of building permits, site plan/architectural reviews, variances, floodplain permits, conditional use permits, grading permits, rezoning applications, and occupancy permits for data centers, nuclear power generation facilities, hydrogen-based energy facilities, and battery energy storage systems in unincorporated Neosho County during the moratorium period, while the Commission reviews potential regulations.
Riley County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-18. Confirmed by three independent sources: The Mercury ('Riley County commissioners on Monday implemented a temporary moratorium...'), KMAN/1350kman.com ('commissioners signed a resolution Monday'), and a Citizen Portal AI summary ('Riley County commissioners voted May 18 to adopt...'). Commissioners had discussed the idea in principle earlier (around April 2026), but the resolution was not signed/effective until May 18, 2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-05-18(exact) - Duration: Six months: effective 2026-05-18 through 2026-11-12, per KMAN (1350kman.com) and WIBW reporting on the signed resolution
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-riley-county-2026 - Legal basis: County Commission moratorium action [VERIFY resolution number from official minutes]
- What prompted it: County commissioners wanted time to study data center and BESS impacts before making a firm policy decision; concerns included high electricity consumption, utility bills, and cooling water.
- Affected projects: Data centers and battery energy storage systems.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Study period for potential county policy or zoning standards.
Saline County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-17
- Normalized date:
2026-03-17(exact) - Duration: Three-year aggregate, structured as one year per covered category: 1 year data centers, 1 year nuclear power facilities, 1 year hydrogen-based energy facilities, per Salina Post interview with Commissioner Joe Hay; Wichita Eagle reported it as a three-year moratorium
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-saline-county-2026 - Legal basis: County Commission action; resolution number not yet identified [VERIFY signed resolution from Saline County clerk]
- What prompted it: Commissioners wanted to halt applications until regulations and resource needs were clear, after denial of a proposed battery energy storage system on a 4-1 supermajority vote in January 2026.
- Affected projects: Data center, nuclear power, and hydrogen-based energy facility applications in unincorporated Saline County.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: County planning process for regulations on covered facilities.
Sedgwick County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-01-14
- Normalized date:
2026-01-14(exact) - Duration: Initially 90 days through 2026-04-17 under Resolution 014-2026; on 2026-03-04 the BoCC voted unanimously to extend the moratorium to 2026-06-11 (Resolution No. 162-2026 recites this as 'June 12, 2026'); on 2026-05-06 the BoCC voted unanimously a second time to extend the moratorium to 2026-09-11 [VERIFY extension resolution number]; on 2026-09-02 the BoCC voted unanimously a third time, adopting Resolution No. 162-2026, extending the interim development control to the earlier of 2026-12-25 or the effective date of new Wichita-Sedgwick County Unified Zoning Code data-center provisions, and adding an exemption for data centers that are accessory structures/uses on the same lot as their principal use.
- Current end date:
2026-12-25 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-sedgwick-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 014-2026 ("A Resolution Establishing an Interim Development Control and Providing for the Suspension of Certain Types of Use Applications and Building Permits"), adopted 2026-01-14, citing K.S.A. 12-741 et seq. and K.S.A. 19-101 et seq. police power; extended by a BoCC resolution adopted 2026-03-04 (to 2026-06-11), and extended a second time by a BoCC resolution adopted 2026-05-06 (to 2026-09-11) [VERIFY extension resolution number: the official OnBase minutes for the 2026-05-06 meeting record the motion and unanimous vote but do not display an assigned resolution number in the fetched transcript; resolutions 089-2026 through 094-2026 assigned earlier in that same meeting cover unrelated agenda items]; extended a third time by Resolution No. 162-2026 (signed PDF), adopted 2026-09-02, extending the control to the earlier of 2026-12-25 or the effective date of new zoning code provisions for data centers.
- What prompted it: Wichita-Sedgwick County Unified Zoning Code did not define data centers; county had increased inquiries for potential projects, especially in unincorporated western Sedgwick County.
- Affected projects: Monarch Energy and NextEra Energy land-acquisition activity in western Sedgwick County; no filed applications identified at adoption.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. The BoCC voted unanimously a third time on 2026-09-02 (Resolution No. 162-2026) to extend the interim development control to the earlier of 2026-12-25 or the effective date of new Wichita-Sedgwick County Unified Zoning Code data-center provisions (county and KWCH/KAKE/Times-Sentinel reporting describe the deadline colloquially as 'Dec. 24, 2026'). Planning and zoning staff continue drafting the data-center zoning rules; the county says no applications for data centers are currently pending.
- Outcome: Wichita-Sedgwick County Metropolitan Area Planning Department prepared a data center white paper recommending definition, classification, conditional use review, overlay options, or prohibition of hyperscale facilities.
Sedgwick County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-03-11 (Board of County Commissioners, Resolution No. 049-2026)
- Normalized date:
2026-03-11(exact) - Duration: One-year interim development control
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-sedgwick-county-2026-2 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 049-2026, interim development control suspending BESS Conditional Use applications
- What prompted it: Zoning code allows BESS as a Renewable Energy System subject to Conditional Use review, but no BESS-specific regulations/standards exist.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Adopted by the Board of County Commissioners on 2026-03-11 for one year, through 2027-03-11, suspending BESS Conditional Use and Building Permit applications in unincorporated Sedgwick County while land development regulations are reviewed.
- Outcome: —
Sedgwick County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-17 (Board of County Commissioners, 5-0, Resolution No. 120-2026)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-17(exact) - Duration: Six-month interim development control
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: solar
- Moratorium ID:
ks-sedgwick-county-2026-3 - Legal basis: Resolution No. 120-2026, interim development control suspending large-scale solar applications
- What prompted it: County previously imposed a solar (SECS) moratorium in 2023 and expanded regulations in 2024; commissioners wanted more time before acting on two pending large-scale solar applications.
- Affected projects: Two previously-submitted large-scale solar project applications (exempted from the pause).
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Adopted 5-0 on 2026-06-17, in effect through 2026-12-11. Does not affect two solar applications already on file, expected before the commission in August 2026.
- Outcome: —
Shawnee County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-08-13
- Normalized date:
2026-08-13(exact) - Duration: Six months from adoption (2026-08-13 through 2027-02-17).
- Current end date:
2027-02-17 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
ks-shawnee-county-2026 - Legal basis: Shawnee County Board of County Commissioners resolution, adopted 2-1 on 2026-08-13 (Commissioners Kevin Cook and Aaron Mays in favor, Commissioner Bill Riphahn opposed; filed by the County Counselor on Cook's behalf); the resolution's 'Data Center' definition incorporates Shawnee County Home Rule Resolution No. HR-2026003.
- What prompted it: A pending Compass Datacenters Conditional Use Permit application (filed 2026-07-24; found incomplete by county Land Use & Development staff on 2026-08-04) drew public controversy; Commissioner Cook cited a resident's concern about a lack of transparency and wanted to prevent any application from being approved before the board completes its review of county data-center regulations.
- Affected projects: Compass Datacenters' pending Conditional Use Permit application near Topeka (filed July 24, 2026); the county may continue reviewing/evaluating that application during the moratorium but the Board cannot take final action on it until Feb. 18, 2027 or later.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through 2027-02-17. The resolution does not stop the pending Compass Datacenters application from being reviewed/evaluated or from a Planning Commission public hearing, but bars the Board of County Commissioners from any final approval/denial until the moratorium ends; the county may resume accepting new data center applications beginning Feb. 18, 2027 absent a further resolution.
- Outcome: Six-month pause on final Board action on data center land-use applications in Shawnee County (new applications may still be filed and reviewed by staff/Planning Commission, but not finally approved or denied) while the county studies its data-center regulations and hires an outside engineering firm.
South Hutchinson
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-26
- Normalized date:
2026-05-26(exact) - Duration: One year from adoption (2026-05-26 through 2027-05-26).
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-south-hutchinson-2026 - Legal basis: South Hutchinson City Council ordinance, adopted unanimously at the May 26, 2026 council meeting (ordinance number not confirmed in sources retrieved).
- What prompted it: A surge of companies proposing data centers nationally prompted the city to act proactively and cautiously before creating permanent rules; this was reported as the first pause on data center/BESS development in the eastern part of Reno County.
- Affected projects: None identified in sources retrieved.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through 2027-05-26 absent further action. As of a July 23, 2026 follow-up report, the city had begun public-input meetings (an informational session held 2026-07-16) and was researching other cities' data centers as part of the moratorium-period study.
- Outcome: One-year pause on data center and battery energy storage system development within South Hutchinson city limits and its extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction, directing the planning commission and staff to review zoning regulations, research other municipalities' standards, and report findings by the end of the moratorium period.
Topeka
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-14 (City Council, unanimous); amended 2026-08-11
- Normalized date:
2026-07-14(exact) - Duration: 12-month moratorium
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
ks-topeka-2026 - Legal basis: City ordinance halting data center applications, amended 2026-08-11 to also restrict utility connections inside and outside city limits
- What prompted it: Concern over infrastructure impacts; Compass Data Centers and Evergy utility-connection questions.
- Affected projects: Compass Data Centers proposal; utility coordination with Evergy discussed at an 2026-08-19 special council meeting.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Adopted unanimously on 2026-07-14 for 12 months (through 2027-07-14); amended 2026-08-11 to restrict utility connections both inside and outside city limits for data centers and similar facilities.
- Outcome: —
Source: moratorium_inventory.csv · Methodology · Codebook.