Illinois local moratoria
Every local infrastructure moratorium in the inventory for Illinois, current through September 23, 2026.
31 instruments — 27 in force, 1 pending, 3 past.
State policy is tracked separately: 11 actions (11 bills) in state_legislation.csv. These are not included in the local count above.
| Jurisdiction | Type | Enacted | Sectors | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bourbonnais | Village | 2026-06-15 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Catlin | Village | 2025-10-07 | solar, wind | ⚪ Replaced |
| Champaign County | County | 2026-04-23 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of Aurora | City | 2025-09-25 | data center | ⚪ Replaced |
| City of Bloomington | City | 2026-05-26 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of Carbondale | City | 2026-06-23 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of Collinsville | City | 2026-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of Effingham | City | 2026-06-02 | cryptocurrency mining, data center | 🟢 Active |
| City of Troy | City | 2026-03 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| City of West Chicago | City | 2026-07-20 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Galesburg | City | 2026-09-21 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Henry County | County | 2026-06-18 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| La Salle County | County | 2026-06-08 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Lake County | County | 2026-09-08 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Lawrence County | County | 2026-09-17 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Lee County | County | 2026-08-20 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Lee County | County | 2026-03 | battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Logan County | County | 2026-05-19 | data center | 🔴 Rescinded |
| Macon County | County | Unverified | data center | 🟡 Pending |
| Mattoon | City | 2026-09-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Morgan County | County | 2026-04-27 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Ottawa | City | 2026-03-03 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Plainfield | Village | 2026-04-21 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Robinson | City | Unverified | solar | 🟢 Extended |
| Rockford | City | 2026-08-03 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Sterling | City | 2026-09-08 | data center, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Tazewell County | County | 2026-04-29 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Town of Normal | Town | 2026-05-18 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Utica | Village | 2026-04-09 | solar, wind | 🟢 Active |
| Village of Godfrey | Village | 2026-01-20 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Woodford County | County | 2026-08-18 | data center | 🟢 Active |
Detailed entries
Bourbonnais
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Village Board of Trustees passed the moratorium ordinance by a 4-0 vote (two trustees absent) at its Monday, June 15, 2026 meeting, after the Economic and Community Development Committee unanimously recommended it on June 10, 2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-15(exact) - Duration: Temporary moratorium on building data centers within the village; expires January 31, 2027 per the ordinance.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-bourbonnais-2026 - Legal basis: Village of Bourbonnais ordinance establishing a data center moratorium (specific ordinance number not published in sources reviewed); the first local government in Kankakee County to adopt such a measure.
- What prompted it: Resident concern/social-media rumors about a data center locating in the village; trustees wanted legal groundwork in place to keep data centers out of village boundaries (the moratorium does not apply outside them).
- Affected projects: No specific project named; officials said the moratorium was prompted by rumors rather than a known proposal.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through January 31, 2027 per the ordinance.
- Outcome: Temporary fix giving officials time to protect the village from future data centers.
Catlin
- Type: Village
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: October 7, 2025 (Catlin Village Council passed a moratorium on new solar energy projects Tuesday evening, per Vermilion County First, 2025-10-09); the Village's own public statement confirms the ordinance runs through April 30, 2026 as first adopted, before later extensions.
- Normalized date:
2025-10-07(exact) - Duration: A solar-farm (and later wind/solar) moratorium was repeatedly extended by the Catlin Village Board in roughly 30-day increments during 2026 while the village drafted a permanent solar/wind zoning ordinance (exact original enactment date not found); most recently extended to Aug. 31, 2026. It was superseded by the permanent ordinance in late August 2026.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: solar, wind
- Moratorium ID:
il-catlin-undated - Legal basis: Catlin Village Board resolution(s)/motions repeatedly extending a solar-farm moratorium (specific instrument numbers not found); superseded by a permanent wind-and-solar zoning ordinance approved in late August 2026.
- What prompted it: Earthrise Energy's proposed 1,400-acre solar-farm project along Catlin-Tilton Road; the village wanted time to draft zoning language addressing setbacks, screening, and water testing for industrial-scale solar and wind projects before acting on the application.
- Affected projects: Earthrise Energy's proposed 1,400-acre solar farm along Catlin-Tilton Road (Tilton Solar project).
- Detailed status: Replaced as of late August 2026. The Village Council approved a permanent wind-and-solar zoning ordinance in the days before Sept. 1, 2026, after which companies (including Earthrise) could begin submitting special-use permit applications for wind and solar projects, ending the moratorium.
- Outcome: The moratorium was replaced by a permanent solar/wind zoning ordinance approved by the Village Council in late August 2026, which now governs special-use applications for wind and solar projects (including annual water testing for private wells within 500 feet of a project boundary).
Champaign County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-23
- Normalized date:
2026-04-23(exact) - Duration: 12 months (Board reverted 9-month ELUC amendment back to 12 months on 2026-04-23 per WGLT and Prairie Rivers Network reporting; Board Member Emily Rodriguez introduced the amendment)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-champaign-county-2026 - Legal basis: Zoning Case 196-AT-26, a Champaign County Zoning Ordinance text amendment (new Section 5.6, amending Section 5.2) imposing a 12-month development moratorium on data centers of at least 10,000 sq ft of processing area, recommended for enactment by the Zoning Board of Appeals 4-0 on 2026-03-19, and adopted by the County Board on 2026-04-23 as Ordinance No. 2026-9.
- What prompted it: County materials cite groundwater quality and safety, Mahomet Aquifer and water use concerns, energy use, and need for standards for large-scale data centers before proposals arrive.
- Affected projects: Data centers with at least 10,000 square feet of processing area. Draft zoning language also discussed "big" data centers rated at 10 MW or greater for related standards. Proposed projects would not be approved, and pending projects would be held in abeyance during the moratorium.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Pending. The County Board created a Data Center Activities Task Force in February 2026 to recommend zoning amendments.
City of Aurora
- Type: City
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: 2025-09-25
- Normalized date:
2025-09-25(exact) - Duration: 180 days, with one-time 30-day extension invoked before final ordinance adoption
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-aurora-2025 - Legal basis: Ordinance O25-064
- What prompted it: Rapid expansion of data centers in northern Illinois; existing code classified data centers as warehouses; city cited neighborhood complaints, noise, emissions, high energy and water use, stormwater, utility demand, infrastructure strain, and fiscal impacts.
- Affected projects: New data center and warehouse developments, subject to carve-outs for previously filed entitlement applications, existing data center remodels, routine maintenance, and public safety facilities. Aurora reported five data centers in city limits and five more in development when it adopted the permanent rules.
- Detailed status: Replaced
- Outcome: City Council approved new rules on 2026-03-24, described by the city as adopted on 2026-03-25. New data centers are conditional uses requiring public hearing, public notice, City Council approval, development agreement, water study and plan, energy plan, sound study and plan, noise and vibration limits, energy and water limits, no evaporative cooling, no modular nuclear, annual energy and water reporting, annual noise testing, and either on-site renewables or battery storage or alternative compliance.
City of Bloomington
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council unanimously approved a six-month moratorium on 2026-05-26.
- Normalized date:
2026-05-26(exact) - Duration: Six-month moratorium applying to data centers designed for more than 5 megawatts; requires at least two public hearings during the pause and may be extended.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-city-of-bloomington-2026 - Legal basis: City of Bloomington ordinance (specific ordinance number not confirmed; the official CivicClerk attachment endpoint returned only a JavaScript application shell, not extractable ordinance text)
- What prompted it: Followed public forums with strong resident opposition to hyperscale data center development.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. The city's own Data Center Information Hub confirms Bloomington and Normal both 'currently have moratoriums on hyperscale data centers' while their regulatory review continues; Bloomington's process now includes Planning Commission public hearings scheduled for Oct. 16 and Nov. 16, 2026. The specific ordinance number remains unpublished: the city's own May 22, 2026 Council agenda packet (obtained via the CivicClerk API) shows the ordinance was introduced as 'ORDINANCE NO. ______' with the number left blank pending adoption, and no subsequently published city, CivicClerk, or news source states the number that was ultimately assigned.
- Outcome: —
City of Carbondale
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council voted 4-1 to adopt a resolution initiating a one-year moratorium on 2026-06-23.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-23(exact) - Duration: One-year moratorium on data center development; council also directed staff to begin a zoning text amendment.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-city-of-carbondale-2026 - Legal basis: City of Carbondale resolution (specific resolution number not stated in available sources)
- What prompted it: Community concerns about water use, electricity demand, noise, and light; no developer had approached the city before the vote.
- Affected projects: No developer had approached the city before the vote.
- Detailed status: Active one-year moratorium.
- Outcome: —
City of Collinsville
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Planning Commission recommended a 12-month moratorium 2025-12-11; per the Troy Times Tribune (2025-12-19), city staff planned to present it 'to the city council in January [2026] who will then cast the final vote.' A May 28, 2026 Troy Times Tribune article independently confirms in passing that 'Collinsville approved a year-long moratorium,' consistent with a January 2026 City Council vote. Exact City Council vote date and ordinance number not confirmed; Collinsville's own website and Legistar system returned bot-protection errors to every retrieval attempt.
- Normalized date:
2026-01(month_only) - Duration: Proposed 12 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-collinsville-undated - Legal basis: Planning Commission matter 5368-2025 / "Data Center Moratorium" — not enacted: Collinsville Legistar API search (filter on MatterTitle contains "moratorium", fetched 2026-04-29) returned no City Council moratorium matters since the Planning Commission's December 11, 2025 recommendation; the only follow-up Planning Commission item is matter 5501-2025 "Discussion - Data Center Text Amendment" on 2026-03-12, indicating the city pivoted from a moratorium recommendation to drafting a text amendment instead.
- What prompted it: Planning Commission discussion focused on researching how data centers and related uses should appear in the land-use table and whether supplementary regulations are needed for design, nuisances, and infrastructure strain.
- Affected projects: No pending applications were reported by local coverage at the time of the Planning Commission recommendation.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. A May 28, 2026 Troy Times Tribune article confirms, in passing, that 'Collinsville approved a year-long moratorium,' and the December 19, 2025 Troy Times Tribune report on the Planning Commission's recommendation states staff planned to bring the 12-month moratorium to the City Council 'in January' for the final vote -- together narrowing the City Council's adoption to January 2026. Collinsville's own website (collinsvilleil.org) and Legistar system (both the public site and the webapi.legistar.com/v1/collinsvilleil endpoint) returned bot-protection errors (HTTP 403) or a client-configuration error to every automated retrieval attempt this session, so the exact vote date and ordinance number remain unconfirmed.
- Outcome: Per a May 28, 2026 Troy Times Tribune comparative reference, Collinsville did in fact enact its proposed year-long data center moratorium at some point between the Planning Commission's December 11, 2025 recommendation and late May 2026, despite the Planning Commission's parallel March 2026 discussion of a text amendment. Ordinance number and exact date not independently confirmed this pass.
City of Effingham
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council adopted Ordinance 052-2026 by a 5-0 vote on 2026-06-02.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-02(exact) - Duration: 12-month moratorium on accepting applications, permitting, and permit approval for cryptocurrency mines, data centers, and similar facilities within the city and its 1.5-mile extraterritorial area.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: cryptocurrency mining, data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-city-of-effingham-2026 - Legal basis: City of Effingham Ordinance 052-2026
- What prompted it: Public comments cited pollution and water-use concerns.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active 12-month moratorium.
- Outcome: —
City of Troy
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: March 2026 (exact date not captured; per a May 28, 2026 Troy Times Tribune article, enacted after multiple council meetings between January and March 2026)
- Normalized date:
2026-03(month_only) - Duration: Original 6-month moratorium (Ordinance 2026-24, adopted March 2026) expired 2026-08-28. Planning Commission voted 5-0 on 2026-09-10 to recommend an extension; City Council placed the extension (Ordinance 2026-57) on its September 21, 2026 agenda. The September 17, 2026 Troy Times Tribune reported city officials intended to extend the moratorium 'until next March' (i.e., through approximately March 2027) to allow the city to see the outcome of the state legislature's fall veto session on data center regulation.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-city-of-troy-2026 - Legal basis: Troy City Council Ordinance 2026-24 (original six-month moratorium, adopted under City Code Section 154.144, per the Ordinance's identification in the September 10, 2026 Planning Commission public-hearing agenda for 'PCREC2026-29 Extension of Data Center Moratorium'); an extension ordinance, Ordinance 2026-57 ('An Ordinance Extending the Temporary Moratorium on Data Centers Established by City of Troy Ordinance 2026-24'), was placed on the City Council's September 21, 2026 agenda for adoption following the Planning Commission's unanimous (5-0) recommendation on September 10, 2026.
- What prompted it: Data center development interest; city sought time to research other states' ordinances/resolutions and add requirements before considering data center real estate proposals; city attorney favored 6 months over 12 as more legally defensible
- Affected projects: Not specified in available reporting
- Detailed status: As of 2026-09-23: the original moratorium (Ordinance 2026-24) expired 2026-08-28. The Planning Commission unanimously recommended (5-0, 2026-09-10) extending it, and the City Council's September 21, 2026 agenda included Ordinance 2026-57 to adopt that extension (per the city's own AgendaCenter). Minutes confirming the Council's vote on Sept. 21 had not yet been posted to the city's website as of this research pass, so the extension's final adoption is treated as highly likely but not independently confirmed by minutes; no source reports the extension failing or the moratorium being allowed to lapse.
- Outcome: Moratorium in effect while the city studies data center regulations from other jurisdictions; may be extended for another six months beginning September 2026 at council's discretion
City of West Chicago
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-07-20: City Council unanimously approved Ordinance 26-O-0011, a 180-day moratorium on new data centers and battery energy storage systems, per the City's own announcement
- Normalized date:
2026-07-20(exact) - Duration: 180-day moratorium on receipt, processing, and final approval of applications and permits for data centers and battery energy storage systems in every zoning district; protects complete pre-effective-date applications and approved permits, includes limited exceptions and a hardship process, and directs staff to present findings within three months. Council may extend or lift it by ordinance.
- Current end date:
2027-01-16 - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
il-city-of-west-chicago-2026 - Legal basis: City of West Chicago Ordinance 26-O-0011
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: Complete pre-effective-date applications and already-approved permits are protected.
- Detailed status: Active 180-day moratorium.
- Outcome: —
Galesburg
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council voted 7-0 to adopt a 180-day data center moratorium on 2026-09-21, after voting 6-1 to advance the ordinance directly from first to second reading the same night.
- Normalized date:
2026-09-21(exact) - Duration: 180-day moratorium on receipt, processing, or approval of data center permit applications, running through April 3, 2027.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-galesburg-2026 - Legal basis: Galesburg city ordinance establishing a 180-day data center moratorium (specific ordinance number not published in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: Preemptive measure; the city had received no pending data center applications, but wanted 'quickest and easiest way' to avoid being obligated to accept one while it studies impacts, partly driven by anticipated state legislation on data centers.
- Affected projects: No pending data center applications in Galesburg; city says it received a few informal inquiries.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. No data center application had been received by the city as of adoption. Council could extend the moratorium, let it lapse, or pursue a longer-term limiting/banning ordinance (which would require additional planning/zoning process).
- Outcome: Moratorium adopted preemptively while the city studies infrastructure, energy, environmental, and waste impacts of data centers.
Henry County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: June 18, 2026 (County Board meeting)
- Normalized date:
2026-06-18(exact) - Duration: 12 months from the effective date, or until the County Board takes further action, whichever occurs first
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-henry-county-2026 - Legal basis: County Board resolution establishing a temporary moratorium on new data center projects
- What prompted it: Public health/safety, groundwater protection, agricultural land/soil productivity, infrastructure impacts
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; 12-month moratorium on new data center proposals in unincorporated Henry County, approved by the County Board on 2026-06-18 alongside a parallel resolution pausing new carbon-sequestration projects.
- Outcome: Adopted
La Salle County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: County Board approved Ordinance 26-65 on 2026-06-08 by a voice vote of 26 ayes, three members absent.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-08(exact) - Duration: 12-month moratorium on data center development.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-la-salle-county-2026 - Legal basis: La Salle County Ordinance 26-65 (Record Book 267, pages 036-038)
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active 12-month moratorium.
- Outcome: —
Lake County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Lake County Board approved the moratorium ordinance on Tuesday, 2026-09-08, following a unanimous recommendation from the Zoning Board of Appeals on Aug. 18, 2026 and unanimous approval by the Planning, Building, Zoning and Environment Committee on Sept. 2, 2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-09-08(exact) - Duration: Eight-month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated Lake County, running through approximately May 2027 (exact calendar end date not published).
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-lake-county-2026 - Legal basis: Lake County Ordinance 26-1018, amending Chapter 151 (Unified Development Ordinance) of the Lake County Code of Ordinances to define and impose a temporary moratorium on data centers in unincorporated Lake County.
- What prompted it: Lake County's Unified Development Ordinance does not specifically define or regulate data centers; the County received more than 1,200 online public comments and hundreds of in-person attendees on the issue before adopting the pause.
- Affected projects: No pending data center proposals in unincorporated Lake County as of adoption.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Applies only to unincorporated areas of Lake County; the county has not received any data center development proposals there. The County intends to use the pause to develop a data-center regulatory framework, with public input before any County Board action on final rules.
- Outcome: Temporary pause while the County studies infrastructure, environmental, and community impacts and develops a regulatory framework, which officials say could serve as a resource for surrounding communities.
Lawrence County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Lawrence County Board voted unanimously on Thursday, 2026-09-17 to approve the moratorium ordinance.
- Normalized date:
2026-09-17(exact) - Duration: Two-year moratorium on data centers exceeding 10,000 square feet; the county will not accept applications for such facilities while it is in effect.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-lawrence-county-2026 - Legal basis: Lawrence County Board ordinance establishing a two-year data center moratorium (specific ordinance number not published in sources reviewed); modeled on a similar moratorium enacted in neighboring Crawford County, Illinois, with the two counties' State's Attorneys collaborating on the ordinance language.
- What prompted it: Board wanted time to educate itself and residents on the problems and benefits of data centers before allowing development; public testimony (including from residents of neighboring Sullivan County, Indiana and Crawford County, Illinois describing negative experiences with nearby data center development) influenced the decision.
- Affected projects: None named; described as a preemptive, county-wide pause rather than a response to a specific proposal.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23.
- Outcome: Two-year pause intended to let the board and public study data-center impacts, infrastructure demands, and community effects before any project proceeds.
Lee County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Lee County Board approved Resolution 2026-08-002 on 2026-08-20.
- Normalized date:
2026-08-20(exact) - Duration: Temporary moratorium on new petitions or applications for Technology Overlay District (TOD) designation/expansion/amendment under the Lee County Zoning Ordinance, effective immediately upon passage and running through November 19, 2026, 11:59 p.m., unless earlier terminated, extended, or modified.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-lee-county-2026 - Legal basis: Lee County Resolution No. 2026-08-002, 'Resolution Imposing a Temporary Moratorium on Applications for Technology Overlay District Designation'
- What prompted it: The Lee County Board wanted to review and consider amendments to the Technology Overlay District regulations (the zoning mechanism used to site technology-related/data-center uses) to address land-use, infrastructure, public-safety, environmental, and community impacts; no TOD petition was pending at the time.
- Affected projects: None; no complete or active TOD petition was pending before the county as of the resolution's passage.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; runs through November 19, 2026 per the resolution. No TOD petitions are pending, per the county's own petition-tracking page.
- Outcome: Pauses new Technology Overlay District applications while the county reviews and considers amendments to its TOD zoning regulations.
Lee County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: March 2026 (County Board meeting; exact date not confirmed)
- Normalized date:
2026-03(month_only) - Duration: Until the state issues implementing regulations under Public Act 104-0458
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
il-lee-county-2026-2 - Legal basis: County Board resolution placing a moratorium on energy-storage projects pending state implementing regulations under Public Act 104-0458
- What prompted it: Awaiting state implementing regulations for utility-scale energy storage siting under PA 104-0458
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23 (last confirmed action); County Board approved a resolution pausing energy-storage project approvals until the state issues implementing regulations under Public Act 104-0458, while the county's own public hearing process for local standards proceeds. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Adopted
Logan County
- Type: County
- Status: 🔴 Rescinded
- Date enacted: County Board approved a 60-day moratorium 9-2 on 2026-02-24; after it lapsed, the Board approved a 12-month moratorium 6-4 on 2026-05-19. The May 19 moratorium was declared procedurally invalid by the State's Attorney on 2026-06-18 for skipping the required Zoning Board of Appeals advisory review and public hearings.
- Normalized date:
2026-05-19(exact) - Duration: 12-month moratorium (approved 2026-05-19) intended to run through approximately 2027-05-19, but ruled procedurally invalid and unenforceable on 2026-06-18. As of an Aug. 4, 2026 committee meeting, the Board was drafting a replacement moratorium (covering data centers exceeding 100 MW) and had submitted it to the State's Attorney for review; as of a Sept. 17-18, 2026 report, the Board had not adopted a new moratorium and was instead advancing 18 amendments to its permanent data-center zoning ordinance.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-logan-county-2026 - Legal basis: 12-month moratorium approved by County Board vote 2026-05-19; declared invalid by Logan County State's Attorney Bradley Hauge on 2026-06-18 because it was not referred to the Zoning Board of Appeals for advisory review or subjected to public hearings before final passage, as required by county procedure.
- What prompted it: Response to Hut 8 Corp.'s proposed ~500 MW 'Logan Prairie' data center near Latham; residents sought time to study the project and adopt safeguards before the county acted on Hut 8's land-use application.
- Affected projects: Hut 8 Corp.'s proposed 'Logan Prairie Data Center' (~500 MW, originally on ~250 acres, later refiled for 720 acres) near Latham, IL; a ~$5B project. Hut 8 has also been in talks with the Village of Latham about possible annexation, which could remove the site from county zoning jurisdiction.
- Detailed status: Not currently in force as of 2026-09-23. The May 19, 2026 moratorium was ruled procedurally invalid on 2026-06-18, and the State's Attorney directed the zoning office to accept Hut 8's rezoning application (deemed complete June 29, 2026); Hut 8 has since filed a further rezoning application for a 720-acre site. As of Aug. 4, 2026, the Board's Zoning and Economic Development Committee was drafting a replacement moratorium (targeting data centers over 100 MW) and submitted it to the State's Attorney for review, but no adoption had been reported by Sept. 17-18, 2026; that most recent reporting instead describes the Board advancing 18 amendments to its permanent data-center zoning ordinance (height cap, setbacks, a faster environmental-discharge cure period), separate from any new moratorium.
- Outcome: The county's attempt to pause data-center applications while it developed permanent zoning was defeated on procedural grounds; as of this research pass the county had not re-adopted a valid moratorium and was instead pursuing amendments to a permanent data-center zoning ordinance while Hut 8's rezoning application proceeds.
Macon County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟡 Pending
- Date enacted: —
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: A draft ordinance published by Macon County on 2026-05-20 proposed a 6-month moratorium (expiration January 31, 2027) on data center special-use and building-permit applications. The County's Zoning Board of Appeals subsequently recommended extending the proposed term to 12 months. As of a Sept. 15, 2026 news report, the County Board had not yet cast a final vote; 'the final decision has received delays.'
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-macon-county-undated - Legal basis: Draft '2026 Ordinance Establishing a Six (6) Month Moratorium on Data Center Applications for Development in Macon County' (posted by Macon County, dated 'June Session, A.D. 2026'); not confirmed as adopted.
- What prompted it: Residents' concerns about a proposed Google/Broadwing-linked data center and about data centers generally (water, energy, noise); the county's zoning ordinance has no dedicated data-center section.
- Affected projects: Discussion has centered on Google/Broadwing-linked data center interest in Macon County, per public commentary at CVAC sessions.
- Detailed status: Pending as of 2026-09-23. A draft 6-month moratorium ordinance was posted by the county on 2026-05-20; the county's Zoning Board of Appeals recommended lengthening it to 12 months at a public meeting; a County Board vote was expected as early as July 9, 2026 but, per a Sept. 15, 2026 WCIA report, 'the final decision has received delays' and no adoption has been confirmed. A Citizens' Voluntary Advisory Committee held public forums on data centers through September 2026 without a moratorium being finalized. [VERIFY instrument number; adoption date not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Undetermined; proposal remains under county consideration with no confirmed adoption as of this research pass.
Mattoon
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council passed the moratorium at its Tuesday, September 1, 2026 meeting, per the city's official announcement published September 3, 2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-09-01(exact) - Duration: Moratorium on new data center developments larger than 21,780 square feet (about half an acre) within Mattoon and the 1.5-mile area outside city limits where the city holds zoning authority. No fixed term; the moratorium renews annually and requires City Council action to change or end it.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-mattoon-2026 - Legal basis: City of Mattoon ordinance establishing a data center moratorium (specific ordinance number not published in the city's own announcement)
- What prompted it: Community questions about water, environment, health, power costs, city services, and finances associated with large data centers; gives the city time to study costs, benefits, and impacts.
- Affected projects: None specified.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Existing businesses that could meet the city's data-center definition may continue operating; the city will not accept new applications for data centers above the size threshold while the moratorium is in place.
- Outcome: Moratorium gives the city time to study costs, benefits, and impacts of large-scale data centers before deciding how to regulate them.
Morgan County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-04-27
- Normalized date:
2026-04-27(exact) - Duration: 6 months
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-morgan-county-2026 - Legal basis: County Board resolution imposing a hard 6-month data center moratorium, moved by Chairman Wankel after the matter was discussed with State's Attorney Gray Noll prior to the meeting, adopted by unanimous roll-call vote (Commissioners Wood and Woods, Chairman Wankel) on April 27, 2026.
- What prompted it: County commissioners and residents sought time to study health, financial, resource, farmland, and community impacts and to draft standards before any application is filed.
- Affected projects: New data center applications; no applications or expressed project interest had been received by the county as of the reported vote.
- Detailed status: Active
- Outcome: Pending. County officials stated the pause is intended for standards and requirements, with possible adjustment after state action.
Ottawa
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: Original 180-day moratorium established by City Council ordinance on approximately 2026-03-03; unanimously extended by the City Council on 2026-08-18 through August 25, 2027.
- Normalized date:
2026-03-03(unverified) - Duration: Moratorium on data centers in all zoning districts within the city; originally 180 days from March 2026, unanimously extended on 2026-08-18 to run through August 25, 2027, citing continued state inaction on the POWER Act.
- Current end date:
2027-08-25 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-ottawa-2026 - Legal basis: City of Ottawa ordinance establishing and later extending a data center moratorium (specific ordinance numbers not published in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: State inaction on the POWER Act, which would set energy/water guidelines for data centers; the city has been drafting its own data-center ordinance but wants to wait until the state acts so local rules align with state law.
- Affected projects: None specified; no official plans for large-scale data centers in the area were reported.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; extended through August 25, 2027.
- Outcome: City continues drafting its own data-center ordinance but is waiting for state legislative action (the POWER Act) before adopting it, extending the moratorium in the meantime.
Plainfield
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Plainfield Village Board voted unanimously to pass the moratorium ordinance; reported by Patch on 2026-04-21 as a Monday-night vote (i.e., on or about 2026-04-20/21).
- Normalized date:
2026-04-21(exact) - Duration: 180-day moratorium on the receipt, processing, approval, and permitting of applications for data centers and warehouses primarily used for storing computing infrastructure.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-plainfield-2026 - Legal basis: Village of Plainfield ordinance establishing a 180-day moratorium on data centers and computing-infrastructure warehouses (specific ordinance number not published in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: Concern over rapid data-center development converting valuable farmland in nearby towns (Joliet, Yorkville, Minooka); the Mayor said the industry is 'in its infancy' and the village wants time to develop a new unified development ordinance addressing data centers.
- Affected projects: None named; several nearby communities (Joliet, Yorkville, Minooka) have already approved data centers.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; original term runs through approximately October 18, 2026. The Mayor said in April 2026 it was 'highly likely' the moratorium would be extended multiple times before the village reaches regulatory clarity.
- Outcome: Pause to allow staff, elected officials, and consultants to study best practices and develop a new unified development ordinance addressing data centers.
Robinson
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: —
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: The Robinson City Council voted to extend an existing solar-farm moratorium for another six months (article published 2026-09-08); original enactment date not found.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: solar
- Moratorium ID:
il-robinson-undated - Legal basis: Robinson City Council ordinance/motion extending a moratorium on solar-farm development (specific instrument number not found)
- What prompted it: Uncertainty over which level of government (city, county, or state) has zoning jurisdiction over solar farms in the area surrounding Robinson; aldermen wanted to wait until that question is resolved.
- Affected projects: None named.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23 per the most recent extension reported. [VERIFY instrument number; adoption date; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Continues the ban on new solar farms in and around the city while jurisdictional questions with the state/county are resolved.
Rockford
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Rockford City Council voted 14-0 to approve the moratorium at its Monday, 2026-08-03 meeting.
- Normalized date:
2026-08-03(exact) - Duration: Six-month moratorium on data centers, directing city staff to conduct a comprehensive review of best practices for data center development, expansion, and operation.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-rockford-2026 - Legal basis: Rockford City Council ordinance/resolution establishing a six-month data center moratorium and staff review (specific instrument number not published in sources reviewed), brought forward by Alderman Jonathan Logemann
- What prompted it: Sustained resident opposition at council meetings to a potential hyperscale data center development (Monarch Energy) citing energy demand, water consumption, noise, and environmental effects.
- Affected projects: Excludes (does not apply to) the Edson Road parcel Monarch Energy is pursuing for a hyperscale data center; no formal Monarch Energy proposal had been submitted as of adoption.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Explicitly does not apply to the Edson Road land where Monarch Energy has been pursuing a data center, because that land is already covered by an existing annexation agreement permitting data center development that cannot be changed without both parties' consent.
- Outcome: Pauses data center development citywide (outside the Edson Road exemption) while staff develop best-practices policy recommendations.
Sterling
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Sterling City Council voted unanimously to impose the moratorium at its Sept. 8, 2026 meeting.
- Normalized date:
2026-09-08(exact) - Duration: 180-day moratorium on processing and approving applications for data centers and battery energy storage systems (BESS).
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
il-sterling-2026 - Legal basis: City of Sterling ordinance/motion establishing a 180-day moratorium on data center and BESS applications (specific ordinance number not published in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: The city had received 'numerous requests' to locate BESS facilities within city limits, including downtown buildings, and had no regulatory framework in place; a 23-page draft ordinance covering data centers and BESS was reviewed by the Plan Commission on July 23, 2026.
- Affected projects: No data center location inquiries reported within city limits; multiple BESS facility inquiries reported, including in downtown buildings.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. The Sterling Plan Commission was scheduled to discuss data centers, BESS facilities, and possible comprehensive-plan amendments at a meeting moved to Sept. 24, 2026.
- Outcome: Moratorium buys time for city staff to develop a formal ordinance and plan for responding to BESS and data center development requests.
Tazewell County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: April 29, 2026 (zoning code amendment)
- Normalized date:
2026-04-29(exact) - Duration: Until a data center zoning ordinance is adopted
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-tazewell-county-2026 - Legal basis: Zoning code amendment prohibiting any land use not explicitly allowed under the code or by supplemental ordinance, adopted 2026-04-29
- What prompted it: No zoning category for data centers; board wants a data center ordinance in place before allowing applications
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; a April 29, 2026 zoning code amendment functions as a de facto pause on data center applications ('It's a moratorium without calling it a moratorium,' per county Community Development staff) while a data center ordinance is drafted. Separately, the Land Use Committee recommended a formal 9-month moratorium on 2026-09-09, which as of 2026-09-23 was awaiting a Zoning Board of Appeals public hearing and had not gone to the full County Board for a final vote. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.65 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: De facto pause adopted; formal fixed-term moratorium still pending
Town of Normal
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: Town Council voted 7-0 to adopt Ordinance 6063 on 2026-05-18.
- Normalized date:
2026-05-18(exact) - Duration: Original moratorium (Ordinance 6063) paused data-center applications through November 30, 2026. On 2026-09-21, the Town Council voted 6-1 (Andy Byars dissenting) to extend the pause six more months, through May 31, 2027, citing the desire to align local rules with anticipated state action on the POWER Act rather than adopt local regulations the state might soon supersede.
- Current end date:
2027-05-31 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-town-of-normal-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Normal Ordinance 6063
- What prompted it: Town sought time to develop data center land-use rules; staff said no applications had been received.
- Affected projects: No data center applications had been received by the town as of the vote.
- Detailed status: Extended and active as of 2026-09-23. The Town Council voted 6-1 on 2026-09-21 to extend the moratorium on data-center applications through May 31, 2027, so that any town regulations can be developed after the state legislature acts (or fails to act) on data-center legislation such as the POWER Act.
- Outcome: —
Utica
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: April 9, 2026 (extension vote, 5-0); original enactment date not confirmed
- Normalized date:
2026-04-09(exact) - Duration: Extended; fixed end date not confirmed
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: solar, wind
- Moratorium ID:
il-utica-2026 - Legal basis: Village Board vote (5-0) extending the existing moratorium on solar and wind farm permits; ordinance number not confirmed
- What prompted it: Awaiting outcome of state legislative session on municipal authority over green-energy siting
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23 (last confirmed action); Village Board voted 5-0 on 2026-04-09 to extend its existing moratorium on solar and wind farm development permits (residential solar exempt); the village asserts home-rule authority is unaffected by Illinois Public Act 104-0458. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Extended
Village of Godfrey
- Type: Village
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-01-20
- Normalized date:
2026-01-20(exact) - Duration: Extended by a unanimous Village Board resolution at the August 4, 2026 Board of Trustees meeting for another 180 days; runs through January 31, 2027. Village Attorney Bryan Dooling told trustees the moratorium 'cannot be extended any further,' making this the village's final window under the ordinance to adopt local data-center zoning regulations before the pause lapses.
- Current end date:
2027-01-31 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-godfrey-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution #2026-01 (confirmed via January 20, 2026 Village Board minutes captured in
research/_originals/2026-01-20-village-board-minutes.pdf; minutes record 6-0 unanimous adoption; resolution text appears in the January 2026 Village newsletter without the resolution number, but the January 20 minutes attach the number) - What prompted it: The village cited the need to study infrastructure capacity, utilities, energy consumption, water usage, environmental considerations, land-use compatibility, long-term planning, and whether code or zoning amendments are warranted.
- Affected projects: Building and Zoning Department directed not to accept, process, or review applications, petitions, permits, approvals, or requests for establishment, construction, or expansion of data centers in any village zoning district.
- Detailed status: Extended and active as of 2026-09-23. The Village Board unanimously approved a further 180-day pause on data-center applications at its August 4, 2026 meeting; the pause runs through January 31, 2027. Per the Village Attorney, this is the final extension available under the moratorium mechanism, so the Board must adopt permanent zoning regulations (or allow the pause to lapse) by that date.
- Outcome: Pending. The resolution is expressly a study period for possible Village Code, zoning, or development standard changes.
Woodford County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Woodford County Board approved the moratorium at its Aug. 18, 2026 meeting, after weeks of discussion.
- Normalized date:
2026-08-18(exact) - Duration: Six-month moratorium on data center applications, with an option for the Board to extend it another six months; the initial term runs through approximately February 2027 while the county holds public hearings and develops a data-center ordinance.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
il-woodford-county-2026 - Legal basis: Woodford County Board ordinance/resolution establishing a six-month data center moratorium with a one-time six-month extension option (specific instrument number not published in sources reviewed)
- What prompted it: County wanted time to develop transparent data-center regulations and hold public hearings, comparing its approach to how it previously handled large wind and solar developments.
- Affected projects: None named.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. No future dates for further ordinance discussion had been announced as of the Aug. 21, 2026 report.
- Outcome: Pause while the county studies data-center land-use, economic, and infrastructure implications and develops a transparent, case-by-case regulatory process.
Source: moratorium_inventory.csv · Methodology · Codebook.