Colorado local moratoria
Every local infrastructure moratorium in the inventory for Colorado, current through September 23, 2026.
30 instruments — 25 in force, 2 pending, 3 past.
State policy is tracked separately: 4 actions (4 bills) in state_legislation.csv. These are not included in the local count above.
| Jurisdiction | Type | Enacted | Sectors | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Archuleta County | County | 2026-06-16 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Arvada | City | Unverified | data center | 🟡 Pending |
| Boulder County | County | 2026-06-02 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Broomfield | City | 2026-07-07 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Buena Vista | Town | 2026-06-09 | data center, cryptocurrency mining | 🟢 Active |
| Cedaredge | Town | 2026-08-20 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Commerce City | City | Unverified | data center | 🟡 Pending |
| Delta County | County | 2026-07-07 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Denver | City | 2026-05-18 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Fremont County (Unincorporated) | County | 2024-06-11 | battery storage, solar | ⚪ Expired |
| Grand County | County | 2025-06-24 | solar, wind, battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Grand County | County | 2026-06-09 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Hudson | Town | 2026-07-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Jefferson County | County | 2026-05-19 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Johnstown | Town | 2026-07-20 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| La Plata County | County | 2025-06-17 | battery storage | ⚪ Replaced |
| Larimer County | County | 2026-01-27 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Lochbuie | Town | 2026-07-21 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Logan County | County | 2025-10-21 | data center, battery storage, solar, wind | ⚪ Replaced |
| Loveland | City | 2026-09-15 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Mead | Town | 2026-08-31 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Milliken | Town | 2026-07-30 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Montrose County | County | 2026-07-01 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Monument | Town | 2026-07-20 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Paonia | Town | 2026-08-11 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Phillips County | County | 2026-02-27 | data center | 🟢 Extended |
| Saguache County | County | 2026-05-05 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| South Fork | Town | 2026-06-18 | data center | 🟢 Active |
| Washington County | County | 2023 | battery storage | 🟢 Active |
| Woodland Park | City | 2026-07-16 | data center | 🟢 Active |
Detailed entries
Archuleta County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of County Commissioners unanimously adopted Resolution 2026-47 on 2026-06-16.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-16(exact) - Duration: Six-month data center moratorium barring pre-submittal activity and the acceptance or processing of planning, building, engineering, and other development applications for data center facilities through December 15, 2026, unless terminated or extended.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-archuleta-county-2026 - Legal basis: Archuleta County Resolution 2026-47, unanimously adopted at the June 16, 2026 Board of County Commissioners meeting in Arboles, per the Pagosa Springs Sun's detailed report of that meeting (which quotes the resolution's own operative text). A standalone signed county PDF was still not located in this pass.
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Six-month moratorium unanimously adopted via Resolution 2026-47 at the June 16, 2026 Board of County Commissioners meeting; per the Pagosa Springs Sun, 'The moratorium will end on Dec. 15 unless terminated or extended by a resolution from the BoCC.' No termination or extension found as of 2026-09-23.
- Outcome: —
Arvada
- Type: City
- Status: 🟡 Pending
- Date enacted: —
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: 18 months (proposed)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-arvada-undated - Legal basis: Ordinance authorizing a moratorium on primary use data center applications (first reading 2026-09-15)
- What prompted it: City zoning, land use and building codes do not address data centers as a distinct land use
- Affected projects: None identified
- Detailed status: Pending as of 2026-09-23; City Council advanced an 18-month moratorium on primary-use data center applications on first reading 2026-09-15; public hearing and final vote scheduled for 2026-10-06.
- Outcome: Awaiting second reading/final Council vote on 2026-10-06
Boulder County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-06-02, Commissioners adoption
- Normalized date:
2026-06-02(exact) - Duration: Six months, from June 2, 2026 through the close of business on December 2, 2026, per the county's own draft resolution attached to the June 2, 2026 Business Meeting agenda.
- Current end date:
2026-12-02 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-boulder-county-2026 - Legal basis: Boulder County resolution imposing a temporary moratorium on processing Data and Detention Center applications, authorized at the Board of County Commissioners' June 2, 2026 Business Meeting, per the County's own official website (bouldercounty.gov) and the meeting's Authorization Memo (with attached draft resolution) on the County's public meeting portal (escribemeetings.com). The specific adopted resolution number was left blank ('RESOLUTION 2026-___') in the draft attached to the public agenda and was not located in a post-adoption county publication as of 2026-09-23.
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: New applications for data centers (and detention centers) in industrial areas
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Confirmed via Boulder County's own official website and the county's June 2, 2026 Business Meeting authorization memo, which contains the full draft resolution text: a temporary moratorium on processing Data and Detention Center applications in unincorporated Boulder County, effective June 2, 2026, running through the close of business on December 2, 2026 (six months). The specific adopted resolution number was still not located in county materials as of 2026-09-23. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: Commissioners voted unanimously for a six-month moratorium on accepting applications for data centers and detention centers in industrial areas
Broomfield
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council voted 9-0 to adopt Ordinance 2313 on second and final reading, 2026-07-07.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-07(exact) - Duration: Stops acceptance, pre-submittal activity, and processing for new or expanded data center facilities and other large energy users with projected loads of at least 10 MW. The pause lasts 18 months from its effective date, or until relevant municipal definitions and standards are adopted, whichever occurs first; council retained authority to extend it. Effective seven days after publication following final passage.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-broomfield-2026 - Legal basis: City and County of Broomfield Ordinance 2313
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active 18-month moratorium.
- Outcome: —
Buena Vista
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of Trustees voted 6-0 to adopt Emergency Ordinance 2026-13 on 2026-06-09, following a 2026-05-20 Planning and Zoning Commission introductory discussion and 2026-05-12 Board of Trustees support for staff work.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-09(exact) - Duration: Pauses acceptance, processing, and approval of applications for principal-use data centers through December 9, 2026, unless shortened or extended. Accessory computer/server equipment serving another lawful principal use is excluded.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, cryptocurrency mining
- Moratorium ID:
co-buena-vista-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Buena Vista Emergency Ordinance 2026-13
- What prompted it: Followed Planning and Zoning Commission discussion of treating data centers as a distinct land use.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. The Town's own Ordinance No. 13 (Series of 2026), as posted on buenavistaco.gov, confirms the moratorium remains in effect through December 9, 2026 unless extended or shortened by further Board of Trustees action. No extension, shortening, or repeal was found; the Board's normal governance activity continued through at least the August 11, 2026 meeting with no reference to ending the pause early.
- Outcome: —
Cedaredge
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of Trustees adopted at its August 20, 2026 regular meeting on a 6-1 vote (Mayor Pro Tem Atkinson dissenting); the ordinance was introduced as 'Ordinance 2026-XX' and initially recorded as Ordinance 2026-06, but the Board's Record of Proceedings was formally amended on 09/17/2026 (after Board approval on 09/03/2026) to correct the ordinance numbering to Ordinance 2026-07.
- Normalized date:
2026-08-20(exact) - Duration: Emergency ordinance imposing a temporary moratorium on data center facility applications and pre-submittal activity in all zoning designations within the Town, continuing until the earliest of February 20, 2027 or adoption of permanent data-center definitions/standards into the Cedaredge Municipal Code.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-cedaredge-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Cedaredge Ordinance No. 2026-07 (renumbered from the originally recorded 2026-06 per the Board's 09/17/2026-amended Record of Proceedings)
- What prompted it: Board referral by Trustee Hoffbauer under Trustee Comments on 8/6/2026, citing lack of adequate local standards for data center facilities; expedited as an emergency ordinance given potential impacts on Town water supply and availability.
- Affected projects: None; the ordinance recites that 'there are no pending applications for a data center facility to be developed within the Town.'
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Emergency moratorium adopted 6-1 on August 20, 2026 (Ordinance No. 2026-07), running through the earlier of February 20, 2027 or adoption of permanent data-center standards.
- Outcome: Board of Trustees adopted an emergency six-month moratorium on data center applications in all zoning districts, following the path of Delta County and the Town of Paonia.
Commerce City
- Type: City
- Status: 🟡 Pending
- Date enacted: —
- Normalized date:
—(unverified) - Duration: Draft ordinance would impose a six-month moratorium on approving data center development plans and zoning applications, because the City's land development code does not address the 'unique characteristics of data center facilities.' Staff recommendation was to pass the six-month ban as written; if adopted, the city would not approve data center development plans until approximately March 2027, extendable by further council vote.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-commerce-city-undated - Legal basis: Draft Commerce City ordinance considered at a regularly scheduled City Council meeting (specific date and ordinance number not confirmed in this pass; reported as a 'Monday night' vote in coverage published September 22, 2026)
- What prompted it: City staff cited significant potential impacts of data centers on city infrastructure (power and water supply), neighborhood character, and surrounding land use, given the land development code's silence on data-center-specific standards.
- Affected projects: None named.
- Detailed status: Pending as of 2026-09-23. City Council was considering (per news coverage published September 22, 2026, referring to a 'Monday night' vote) a six-month moratorium on data center development plan and zoning applications; the outcome of that vote was not confirmed in sources available as of the research date. [VERIFY instrument number; adoption date; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.5 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: City Council considered a staff-recommended six-month moratorium on data center development applications; adoption status as of 2026-09-23 was not confirmed.
Delta County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of County Commissioners adopted Resolution R-18 on 2026-07-07.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-07(exact) - Duration: Temporary moratorium on data center facility applications in unincorporated Delta County, covering pre-submittal activity and planning, building, engineering, and other development applications. Scheduled to expire January 7, 2027, or when the county adopts permanent regulations, whichever occurs first.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-delta-county-2026 - Legal basis: Delta County Resolution R-18
- What prompted it: County review will consider land-use compatibility, water and energy demand, infrastructure, noise, environmental effects, emergency response, and economic development.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Confirmed via Delta County's own official website: Resolution R-18 'is scheduled to remain in effect until January 7, 2027, or until the County completes and adopts appropriate regulations, whichever occurs first.' County Commissioners' regular meetings through at least September 1, 2026 (reported September 7, 2026) show the related Land Use Code review (covering natural medicine and battery-storage standards, not data centers) still under way with no final action, and no repeal or early replacement of the data-center moratorium.
- Outcome: —
Denver
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-18 (City Council final passage of Council Bill 26-0431 at second reading/public hearing, unanimous); signed by the Mayor 2026-05-20; effective 2026-05-21
- Normalized date:
2026-05-18(exact) - Duration: One year from the effective date (2026-05-21, i.e. nominally through 2027-05-21), or upon adoption of amendments to the Denver Revised Municipal Code and a text amendment to the Denver Zoning Code addressing data centers, per Section 5 of the ordinance as filed and passed without amendment to that section: 'This moratorium shall expire the earlier of: (a) One year from the effective date of this ordinance; or (b) The effective date of any amendments to the Denver Revised Municipal Code regarding data centers and any text amendment to the Denver Zoning Code regarding data centers, whichever occurs later.' (The 'earlier of ... whichever occurs later' phrasing is the ordinance's own internal drafting inconsistency, quoted verbatim.)
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-denver-2026 - Legal basis: Council Bill 26-0431 (Series of 2026), passed by City Council on final consideration 2026-05-18 and signed by the Mayor 2026-05-20; effective 2026-05-21. Denver's own official city government page ('Data Centers in Denver,' denvergov.org) and its Legistar record both cite 'CB 26-0431' / 'Ordinance 26-0431' as the enactment's operative citation; no separate sequential codified ordinance number distinct from the council bill number was found, and the city's own public FAQ page uses '26-0431' as the identifier when explaining the moratorium to residents.
- What prompted it: No data-center-specific zoning regulations; concerns about water, energy, ratepayer cost shifting, noise, air quality, siting, and impacts on vulnerable communities.
- Affected projects: Existing and already permitted projects would not be stopped. CoreSite DE3 phase one at 4900 Race Street is under construction; future phases had not been permitted as of captured reporting.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Denver's own official city page confirms the moratorium runs 'from May 21, 2026 to May 21, 2027.' The city has begun forming a 20+ member community Working Group (facilitated by Group14 Engineering and the Civic Consulting Collaborative) to recommend post-moratorium zoning, building, and energy code changes; applications were open August 21-September 4, 2026, and the Working Group's first meeting is scheduled for October 9, 2026. Denver's own page states the moratorium 'will be extended' if the Working Group needs more time. No repeal, early amendment, or Denver Zoning Code/Municipal Code data-center text amendment that would end the moratorium early was found as of 2026-09-23.
- Outcome: If enacted, Denver would use the pause for a working group and possible amendments to zoning, building, energy, green/climate, and municipal code provisions.
Fremont County (Unincorporated)
- Type: County
- Status: ⚪ Expired
- Date enacted: 2024-06-11 (per BESS tracker; primary resolution date not independently confirmed)
- Normalized date:
2024-06-11(unverified) - Duration: Six months (per resolution text: 'six months from the date of this Resolution')
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: battery storage, solar
- Moratorium ID:
co-fremont-county-unincorporated-2024 - Legal basis: Emergency temporary moratorium on major utility projects (battery energy storage, solar, wind, water/sewage, geothermal) under HB 74-1041
- What prompted it: Inquiries about commercial battery storage/solar and inadequate zoning regulations
- Affected projects: None identified
- Detailed status: Expired (lifted). County adopted an emergency temporary moratorium on major utility projects, including battery energy storage and solar; per the eticaag BESS tracker the moratorium ran 2024-06-11 to 2025-01-01 (6 months) and has since lifted. [VERIFY instrument number not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: County developed HB 74-1041 permitting standards for major utility projects
Grand County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2025-06-24 (moratorium took effect)
- Normalized date:
2025-06-24(exact) - Duration: Two years
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: solar, wind, battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
co-grand-county-2025 - Legal basis: Grand County Board of County Commissioners moratorium on commercial solar, wind, battery and energy storage projects (>25kW)
- What prompted it: County master plan update; limited existing regulation of large-scale commercial alternative energy projects
- Affected projects: None identified
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; a two-year moratorium (effective 2025-06-24) on commercial-scale solar, wind, and battery/energy storage projects exceeding 25kW capacity, running through 2027-06-24.
- Outcome: County developing land-use regulations for large-scale renewable/storage projects
Grand County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of County Commissioners approved at its June 9, 2026 meeting in Hot Sulphur Springs.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-09(exact) - Duration: Moratorium on construction of data centers under the county's state-delegated 1041 authority, deliberately aligned to expire on the same date as the county's existing two-year moratorium on commercial/utility-scale solar and wind facilities over 25 kW (adopted June 24, 2025).
- Current end date:
2027-06-24 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-grand-county-2026 - Legal basis: Grand County Board of County Commissioners resolution under its state-delegated 1041 regulatory authority (specific resolution number not located in this pass)
- What prompted it: Commissioners determined data centers fall under the same 1041 category as solar/wind facilities and should be reviewed together; no existing data center regulations in the county.
- Affected projects: None named.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Moratorium on data center construction adopted June 9, 2026, aligned to expire June 24, 2027 alongside the county's existing solar/wind moratorium. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.65 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Board of County Commissioners adopted a moratorium on data center construction under its 1041 powers, to run concurrently with the county's existing solar/wind facility moratorium.
Hudson
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Town Council unanimously approved Ordinance 26-13 on second/final reading (6-0) on 2026-07-01, following a 5-1 first reading on 2026-06-17.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-01(exact) - Duration: Temporary moratorium on new data center facility applications while the town evaluates land-use and infrastructure regulations. Precise duration, effective date, and exceptions were not located in reviewed sources.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-hudson-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Hudson Ordinance 26-13
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Adopted 2026-07-01, confirmed via the Town's own July 1, 2026 meeting minutes: Ordinance 26-13 passed second/final reading with all six Council members present (Hammock, Post, Reyes, Cole, Nolf, Buesgens) voting aye and none opposed, following a 5-1 first reading on June 17, 2026. As of 2026-09-23, the executed ordinance's duration, effective date, and exceptions were still not located in the Town's posted agenda packets (which list the ordinance by title only and do not attach its text), so duration and scope remain unverified. [VERIFY details not confirmed at confidence 0.6 in the 2026-07 refresh]
- Outcome: —
Jefferson County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2026-05-19
- Normalized date:
2026-05-19(exact) - Duration: Ten-month moratorium adopted at a May 19, 2026 public hearing on new applications for development of, or rezoning to allow, data centers in unincorporated Jefferson County; excludes land already zoned for data centers via a Planned Development at least 1,500 feet from any dwelling. Runs through approximately March 19, 2027.
- Current end date:
2027-03-19 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-jefferson-county-2026 - Legal basis: Jefferson County Board of County Commissioners action taken at a public hearing on May 19, 2026, per the County's own official jeffco.us news release; a numbered resolution/ordinance citation was not published in that release or located elsewhere in this pass.
- What prompted it: Commissioners cited the need to evaluate how data centers interact with the Wildland Urban Interface (WUI), the county's water supply, environment, and community health, while weighing potential job growth against community impact (per the county's official news release).
- Affected projects: Not specified in the source reviewed.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Ten-month moratorium on new data center development and rezoning applications in unincorporated Jefferson County, adopted at a May 19, 2026 public hearing (confirmed via the County's own official news release), running through approximately March 19, 2027 unless ended sooner. No repeal or extension found.
- Outcome: County weighing environmental impacts against economic benefits before allowing new data center applications.
Johnstown
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Town Council passed Ordinance 2026-295 on a 5-1 vote at its Monday, July 20, 2026 meeting (Mayor Duncan, Mayor Pro Tem Young, and Councilmembers Berg, Morris, and Menzies voting aye; Councilmember Bashford opposed; Councilmember Molinar absent).
- Normalized date:
2026-07-20(exact) - Duration: 12-month moratorium (or until Johnstown adopts data-center definitions, standards, regulations, and conditions into its Land Use Development Code, whichever is first) on accepting applications or engaging in pre-submittal activities for data-center facilities, including planning applications, building permits, and engineering permits.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-johnstown-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Johnstown Ordinance 2026-295
- What prompted it: Town officials cited the lack of comprehensive zoning, land-use, or water-management regulations addressing data centers' potential burden on the town's long-term energy, water, and fiber resources; no data center project has been proposed in Johnstown.
- Affected projects: None; no data center project has been approved or proposed in Johnstown.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. 12-month moratorium on data center facility applications, adopted 5-1 on July 20, 2026 via Ordinance 2026-295.
- Outcome: Town Council adopted a 12-month moratorium on data-center facility applications, with Councilmember Bashford dissenting on grounds it represented government overreach.
La Plata County
- Type: County
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: 2025-06-17 (per BESS tracker; primary resolution date not independently confirmed)
- Normalized date:
2025-06-17(unverified) - Duration: Ran until permanent BESS regulations were adopted
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
co-la-plata-county-2025 - Legal basis: Replaced by Resolution 2026-07 and Resolution 2026-08 (permanent BESS land use code amendments, adopted 2026-01-20)
- What prompted it: County studying battery energy storage system risks/regulations
- Affected projects: None identified
- Detailed status: Replaced. The county's BESS moratorium (per the BESS tracker, in effect 2025-06-17 to 2026-01-21) ended when the Board of County Commissioners adopted permanent Battery Energy Storage System land use regulations (Resolutions 2026-07 and 2026-08) on 2026-01-20. [VERIFY primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.65 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Permanent BESS land use regulations adopted
Larimer County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-01-27
- Normalized date:
2026-01-27(exact) - Duration: Initial 30 days from 2026-01-27 (Resolution, Reception No. 20260005307); extended six months to 2026-08-25 by a resolution signed 2026-04-07 (Reception No. 20260016505), following a 2026-02-09 public hearing; extended a second time, six more months, to 2026-02-25 (2027), by a resolution signed 2026-07-13 (Reception No. 20260034886), following a 2026-07-13 public hearing.
- Current end date:
2027-02-25 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-larimer-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution to Establish a Temporary Moratorium on Data Center Facilities in Larimer County, Colorado, signed 2026-01-27, Larimer County Clerk & Recorder Reception No. 20260005307 (initial 30 days); Resolution to Establish a Temporary Moratorium on Data Center Facilities in Larimer County, Colorado (extension), signed 2026-04-07, Reception No. 20260016505 (extends through 2026-08-25, following the 2026-02-09 hearing); Resolution to Extend the Temporary Moratorium on Data Center Facilities in Larimer County, Colorado, signed 2026-07-13, Reception No. 20260034886 (extends through 2026-02-25, 2027, following the 2026-07-13 hearing). Authority cited: C.R.S. section 30-28-121 (temporary regulations, not to exceed six months).
- What prompted it: Larimer County Land Use Code had no definitions or regulations for data center uses; county cited water consumption, power usage, noise, aesthetics, heat effects, and suitable zoning.
- Affected projects: No site-specific data center applications had been submitted as of the county's 2026-04-23 update.
- Detailed status: Active through 2026-02-25, 2027, per a second extension resolution signed 2026-07-13 (recorded 2026-07-14, Clerk & Recorder Reception No. 20260034886), following a 2026-07-13 public hearing. No Land Use Code amendments addressing data centers had been adopted as of that extension; a public survey that closed 2026-06-12 reportedly found 94% of respondents opposed to data center construction.
- Outcome: County is drafting Land Use Code definitions and standards and opened a public survey through 2026-06-12.
Lochbuie
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Town Board voted 6-1 on July 21, 2026 to approve an ordinance introduced by Mayor Jamie Jeffery.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-21(exact) - Duration: Five-year pause on the Town's acceptance and review of applications for new or expanded data center facilities -- reported as the longest active data-center moratorium in Colorado.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-lochbuie-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Lochbuie ordinance (specific ordinance number not located in this pass), adopted July 21, 2026
- What prompted it: Preemptive action; no data center has been proposed in Lochbuie, but a large data center (Cielo Hudson Data Center, ~500 acres/750 MW) is planned in neighboring Hudson. Over 400 residents petitioned via an Action Network campaign organized by the nonprofit 'With Many Hands,' citing water and electricity concerns amid statewide drought.
- Affected projects: None proposed within Lochbuie; cited concern is the neighboring Cielo Hudson Data Center project in the Town of Hudson.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Five-year moratorium on new/expanded data center facility applications, adopted 6-1 on July 21, 2026.
- Outcome: Town Board passed a five-year moratorium on data center applications, the longest such pause reported in Colorado.
Logan County
- Type: County
- Status: ⚪ Replaced
- Date enacted: 2025-10-21
- Normalized date:
2025-10-21(exact) - Duration: 180 days as adopted; replaced by Resolution 2026-5 (effective 2026-02-17) before the full term elapsed
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center, battery storage, solar, wind
- Moratorium ID:
co-logan-county-2025 - Legal basis: Resolution 2025-25
- What prompted it: County needed time to draft regulations before accepting or processing applications for data center, battery, solar, and wind facilities; meeting records cited grid, infrastructure, agricultural land, and land use compatibility concerns.
- Affected projects: County Commissioners' October 14, 2025 work-session minutes record a briefing by developer Blake Marcus (Granite Renewables) and consultant Ben Gager (SWCA Environmental Consultants) describing a proposed project east and west of County Road 9 (approximately 21 miles northwest of Sterling) at close to 2 GW nameplate capacity, including 1 GW of on-site natural gas generation, 630 MW of solar as ancillary power, and 1,800 MWh of battery storage. Commissioner Yahn noted the moratorium had already been planned before this specific proposal surfaced. As of a January 2026 hearing, commissioners stated no formal permit application had yet been received.
- Detailed status: Replaced. All four facility types covered by Resolution 2025-25 were superseded by their own permanent regulation resolutions, each with an explicit rescission clause tied back to Resolution 2025-25: Resolution 2026-4 (Battery Energy Storage Systems, effective 2026-02-17), Resolution 2026-5 (Data Center Facilities, effective 2026-02-17), Resolution 2026-6 (Solar Energy / Community Solar Garden, effective 2026-02-17), and Resolution 2026-11 (Wind Energy Facilities, adopted 2026-04-07, shortly before the moratorium's own ~2026-04-19 lapse date). None of the four components lapsed unaddressed.
- Outcome: Resolution 2026-5 adopted Data Center Facility regulations. The county planning page lists Resolution 2026-5 among amended regulations effective 2026-02-17 and 2026-04-07.
Loveland
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council voted 7-2 on September 15, 2026 to adopt the suspension, after amending the staff-proposed 9-month term to 12 months on a 5-4 vote (Councilor Laura Light-Kovacs' motion).
- Normalized date:
2026-09-15(exact) - Duration: 12-month suspension on the City's acceptance, processing, approval, permitting, rezoning, and site plan review of new land use applications for data centers with an electrical demand of 10 MW or more or that use industrial-scale cooling infrastructure; ends upon adoption of comprehensive Unified Development Code data-center regulations or 12 months from the effective date, whichever is first.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-loveland-2026 - Legal basis: City of Loveland Resolution (number not assigned in the draft text reviewed; adopted September 15, 2026)
- What prompted it: No pending applications, but staff and council cited the lack of statewide regulation after SB26-102 and HB26-1030 were both postponed indefinitely, and the need for the City to coordinate with the Platte River Power Authority on grid impacts and study water/cooling tradeoffs.
- Affected projects: None named; Loveland had not received a formal data center application as of adoption, though the city acknowledged informal developer interest.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. 12-month suspension on large-scale data center land use applications, adopted 7-2 on September 15, 2026, effective immediately, running through approximately September 15, 2027 unless data-center regulations are adopted sooner.
- Outcome: City Council approved a 12-month suspension on large-scale data center development applications while staff develop permanent land use regulations.
Mead
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of Trustees approved on a 4-2 vote (Trustees Hagan and Crane dissenting) at its August 31, 2026 meeting.
- Normalized date:
2026-08-31(exact) - Duration: 12-month moratorium preventing data centers from applying to develop in Mead; does not permanently prohibit data centers, and can end sooner than 12 months if staff has adequate information to develop regulations.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-mead-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Mead ordinance (specific ordinance number not located in this pass), adopted August 31, 2026
- What prompted it: Town Attorney Marcus McAskin cited increasing interest in Front Range data center development (e.g., the proposed Global AI facility in Windsor) and substantial potential demands on electrical power, utility infrastructure, and water supply.
- Affected projects: None in Mead; cited concern is the broader Front Range trend, including the proposed Global AI data center in nearby Windsor.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. 12-month moratorium on data center development applications, adopted 4-2 on August 31, 2026.
- Outcome: Board of Trustees approved a 12-month moratorium on data center applications to give staff time to study impacts and develop regulations.
Milliken
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of Trustees introduced/discussed at its May 27, 2026 regular meeting; the Town's own Municode ordinance index records final adoption as Ordinance No. 2026-839 on 7/30/2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-30(exact) - Duration: One-year moratorium on accepting/processing applications for data center uses, to give town staff time to research and develop land use regulations.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-milliken-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Milliken Ordinance No. 2026-839, 'AN ORDINANCE OF THE TOWN OF MILLIKEN, COLORADO, APPROVING A MORATORIUM ON ACCEPTANCE AND PROCESSING OF APPLICATIONS FOR DATA CENTER USES,' per the Town's official Municode ordinance index
- What prompted it: Not specified in the sources reviewed beyond the general statewide pattern of pausing applications pending land use regulation development.
- Affected projects: None named.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. One-year moratorium on data center use applications, formally adopted July 30, 2026 as Ordinance No. 2026-839, following initial Board discussion/passage at the May 27, 2026 meeting.
- Outcome: Board of Trustees adopted a one-year moratorium on accepting and processing data center use applications while staff research land use regulations.
Montrose County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of County Commissioners adopted Resolution Number 23-2026, effective July 1, 2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-01(exact) - Duration: Six-month moratorium (the statutory maximum a Colorado county may impose by resolution without a public hearing under C.R.S. 30-28-121) on acceptance/processing of data center facility applications in unincorporated Montrose County, from the effective date or until data-center standards are adopted into the Zoning Regulations, whichever is first.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-montrose-county-2026 - Legal basis: Montrose County Resolution Number 23-2026
- What prompted it: The county's Zoning Resolution does not currently contain specific regulations, standards, or definitions addressing data center facilities' impacts on electrical power, water supply, telecommunications, and transportation infrastructure.
- Affected projects: None named.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Six-month moratorium under Resolution 23-2026, effective July 1, 2026, on data center facility applications in unincorporated Montrose County.
- Outcome: Board of County Commissioners adopted a six-month moratorium on data center facility applications, reserving the right to extend if more time is needed to complete the regulatory process.
Monument
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Town Council voted 6-0 to adopt Ordinance 18-2026 on 2026-07-20.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-20(exact) - Duration: Six-month moratorium on permit and land-development applications that include a data center as a principal or accessory use.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-monument-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Monument Ordinance 18-2026
- What prompted it: No data center proposal was pending; staff planned to address data centers in a broader rewrite of the land-development code.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active six-month moratorium.
- Outcome: —
Paonia
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Town Board passed by unanimous vote at the August 11, 2026 regular board meeting; resolution drafted by Interim Town Administrator Greg Sund.
- Normalized date:
2026-08-11(exact) - Duration: One-year moratorium tied to Resolution 15-26, refusing data center applications until August 11, 2027; also directs staff to draft a data-center-specific ordinance.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-paonia-2026 - Legal basis: Town of Paonia Resolution 15-26
- What prompted it: Followed neighboring Delta County's data-center moratorium; Mayor Pro Tem Anne Lee Foster called the pause 'very prudent,' and trustees discussed coordinating with the county on water-policy impacts.
- Affected projects: None named; adopted preemptively, citing Delta County's similar moratorium.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. One-year moratorium under Resolution 15-26, adopted August 11, 2026, refusing data center applications through August 11, 2027.
- Outcome: Town Board unanimously adopted Resolution 15-26, pausing data center applications for one year and directing staff to draft permanent data-center regulations.
Phillips County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Extended
- Date enacted: 2026-02-27 (Resolution 2026-02-27-01 adopted)
- Normalized date:
2026-02-27(exact) - Duration: Six months, extended through 2026-12-31 by BOCC vote on 2026-08-20
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-phillips-county-2026 - Legal basis: Resolution 2026-02-27-01, extended by BOCC vote 2026-08-20
- What prompted it: County developing regulations for data center facility applications
- Affected projects: None identified
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; Resolution 2026-02-27-01 (adopted 2026-02-27) imposed a six-month moratorium on data center facility applications in unincorporated Phillips County, extended by unanimous BOCC vote on 2026-08-20 through 2026-12-31.
- Outcome: County revising Land Use Code to address data center facilities
Saguache County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: Board of County Commissioners adopted at its meeting on Tuesday, May 5, 2026.
- Normalized date:
2026-05-05(exact) - Duration: Emergency temporary moratorium on data center project applications (acceptance, processing, or approval) for six months, to give the County time to develop and amend the Saguache County Land Use Code, Standards, and 1041 Regulations addressing data center projects.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-saguache-county-2026 - Legal basis: Saguache County Board of County Commissioners emergency resolution (specific resolution number not located in this pass), adopted May 5, 2026
- What prompted it: San Luis Valley Rural Electric Cooperative (SLVREC) CEO Eric Eriksen told commissioners at an April 21, 2026 meeting that the co-op had received three inquiries for 'rural data center' projects in the Valley; commissioners cited the need for 'immediate preservation and protection of the public health, safety, and welfare.'
- Affected projects: None formally filed; three informal developer inquiries relayed to the county via SLVREC.
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23 (or superseded by permanent Land Use Code / 1041 regulations if adopted in the interim); six-month emergency moratorium adopted May 5, 2026. [VERIFY instrument number; primary source (news-only evidence) not confirmed at confidence 0.68 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: Board of County Commissioners adopted an emergency six-month moratorium on data center project applications to allow time to develop Land Use Code and 1041 standards specific to data centers.
South Fork
- Type: Town
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: The Town Board of the Town of South Fork introduced and passed Emergency Ordinance No. 2026-03 on June 18, 2026, per the archived legal notice published in the Valley Courier's July 1, 2026 edition. The notice's own adoption clause misstates the enacting body as 'Town of Center,' which is judged to be a drafting/scrivener error: every other part of the notice -- its heading ('TOWN OF SOUTH FORK'), all WHEREAS recitals, and the operative sections (which reference amending 'the South Fork Revised Municipal Code' and 'the South Fork Zoning Code') -- identifies the Town of South Fork, and the neighboring Town of Center's own published board-meeting calendar shows no meeting on June 18, 2026 at all.
- Normalized date:
2026-06-18(exact) - Duration: One-year pause on permit and site-development applications for new primary-use data centers while the town considers code amendments and community engagement.
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-south-fork-2026 - Legal basis: Town of South Fork Emergency Ordinance No. 2026-03. The ordinance's own adoption clause names 'Town of Center' rather than South Fork, but this is judged a scrivener's error (see date_enacted): the heading, every recital, and every operative section name South Fork, and the Town of Center's own agenda calendar (via towncloud.io) shows no board meeting on June 18, 2026.
- What prompted it: —
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23; jurisdiction confirmed as the Town of South Fork (see legal_basis). Per Section 4 of the ordinance, the one-year pause on data center site-development and permit applications expires the earlier of June 18, 2027, or the effective date of South Fork Revised Municipal Code/Zoning Code amendments addressing data centers, whichever occurs later (the ordinance's own internal 'earlier of ... whichever occurs later' drafting, quoted verbatim). No repeal or amendment found.
- Outcome: —
Washington County
- Type: County
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: 2023 (original Resolution 88-2023; repeatedly extended)
- Normalized date:
2023(year_only) - Duration: Repeatedly extended in 7-month increments
- Current end date:
— - Sectors: battery storage
- Moratorium ID:
co-washington-county-2023 - Legal basis: Resolution 88-2023 and subsequent extension resolutions; last confirmed extension adopted 2025-11-25
- What prompted it: County developing battery energy storage system regulations
- Affected projects: None identified
- Detailed status: Status as of 2026-09-23 uncertain. The county has repeatedly extended a moratorium on accepting/processing/approving BESS applications since 2023 (Resolution 88-2023); the last confirmed extension resolution (adopted 2025-11-25) ran the moratorium to 2026-06-30. Whether the county extended it again after that date was not confirmed within the research budget. [VERIFY details not confirmed at confidence 0.55 in the 2026-09 refresh]
- Outcome: County developing BESS regulations
Woodland Park
- Type: City
- Status: 🟢 Active
- Date enacted: City Council adopted Ordinance 1525 on 2026-07-16, following a first reading on 2026-06-18.
- Normalized date:
2026-07-16(exact) - Duration: Pauses submission, acceptance, processing, review, hearings, approval, and siting of new or expanded data centers while the city develops definitions and land-use, water, and wastewater rules. City Council passed Ordinance No. 1525 (Series 2026) on second/final reading July 16, 2026 as an 18-month moratorium: The Gazette's July 17, 2026 report of that meeting states 'The 18-month moratorium halts data centers' and quotes Councilmember Seth Bryant explaining why council chose 18 rather than 12 months. The city's posted first-reading document (posted June 19, 2026, before the amendment) still shows the pre-amendment 12-month figure and blank termination-date placeholders; a signed second-reading ordinance with the filled-in date was not located, but the 18-month figure is independently corroborated by Colorado Newsline and the Denver Gazette.
- Current end date:
2028-01-16 - Sectors: data center
- Moratorium ID:
co-woodland-park-2026 - Legal basis: City of Woodland Park Ordinance 1525 (Series 2026)
- What prompted it: No data center proposal was pending at the time of adoption; described as a proactive measure.
- Affected projects: —
- Detailed status: Active as of 2026-09-23. Adopted 2026-07-16 as an 18-month moratorium (through approximately 2028-01-16), confirmed by The Gazette's July 17, 2026 report of the second-reading vote and corroborated by Colorado Newsline (August 10, 2026) and the Denver Gazette (September 12, 2026). No repeal or amendment found.
- Outcome: —
Source: moratorium_inventory.csv · Methodology · Codebook.